AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 1 of 6 (11,489 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD 2013 Suddenly won't start up

11489 Views, 5 Replies
04-17-2012 08:10 AM

I have ACADE 2013 and was running vanilla Autocad, having performance issues in a drawing I was working on (jumpy cursor). The problem was hardware acceleration. I enabled hardware acceleration and was able to reopen the drawing without issue.

 

However after I closed AutoCAD and attempted to re-open it later, it doesn't get past the splash screen. The screen will just disappear without an error message and the acad.exe entry will disappear from the task manager as well. I had this problem after I first installed it, and spent two work days completely reformatting my hard drive, reinstalling windows, and all of the applications I use (I was having a lot of other issues with a lot of other software packages). Then when I installed it this last time, it worked, so I figured my troubles were over. Well, I was wrong.

 

I looked up the article on the knowledge base and it was no help. The ALDM log file has no entries from today, and the error in it was not what the article said it would be. I deleted the file it told me to delete, and it didn't help at all. I still have the same problem. Here are the contents of the ADLM log file:

 

3896 2012/04/11 14:37:24 Reason=License install
3896 2012/04/11 14:37:24 ComputerName=*******
3896 2012/04/11 14:37:24 OS=5.1.2600.Service Pack 3
3896 2012/04/11 14:37:24 ShortCode=W5GL91DUCJDEQUR474KUXQR3FFYAUW9Z
3896 2012/04/11 14:37:24 LicenseStatus=2.10.0
2940 2012/04/16 09:22:27 Reason=Fatal error
2940 2012/04/16 09:22:27 ComputerName=*******
2940 2012/04/16 09:22:27 OS=5.1.2600.Service Pack 3
2940 2012/04/16 09:22:27 File=AdlmIntSATSLicense.cpp,Line=2113
2940 2012/04/16 09:22:27 AdlmIntError=46 [This feature operation is not supported/or available in non interactive mode i.e. silent mode]

 

Again the problem started on the 17th, not the 16th, so I don't think that has anything to do with it. I'm honestly fuming with anger right now. This upgrade process has been....upsetting to say the least.

 

Oh and my hardware specs:

 

Pentium 4 3 GHz

3 GB RAM

80 GB Hard Drive

NVidia Quadro FX 1400

 

 

Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 2 of 6 (11,463 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013 Suddenly won't start up

04-17-2012 09:15 AM in reply to: brians

I figured out what the problem was. After running the "Reset to defaults" program, I was able to get AutoCAD running again. I enable hardware acceleration and changed no other settings, and the problem repeated. I'm going to try installing the AutoCAD certified drivers and seeing if that makes a difference.

Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 3 of 6 (11,456 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013 Suddenly won't start up

04-17-2012 10:03 AM in reply to: brians

Okay, now a new problem. Now that I've updated my video card driver, my whole system locks up when the splash screen says "Loading add-ons....AcVMTools.crx."

 

I'm fed up with this. I'm putting 2012 back on my machine and giving up until there is some decent support and stability in the 2013 release. It's a shame my company is paying so much money for such unstable and buggy software.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎09-07-2004
Message 4 of 6 (11,441 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013 Suddenly won't start up

04-17-2012 12:09 PM in reply to: brians

Gave up pretty easy. Putting proper graphics drivers on should have been step 1. Now just repeat the earlier steps, reboot to make sure graphics driver is fully installed, reset the profile, download latest graphics driver database, check compatibility again and re-enable the hardware acceleration.

Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 5 of 6 (11,430 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013 Suddenly won't start up

04-17-2012 01:17 PM in reply to: GTVic

Yep. That was the problem. I let the week of frustration with this get to me. The problem was downloading the AutoCAD certified driver instead of the regular driver. The AutoCAD certified driver is only certified to version 2011. I uninstalled that and installed the standard driver and everything works. The program starts up and I have hardware acceleration enabled by default.

 

So until Autodesk certifies Nvidia's driver for version 2013, I'm going to stick with the ODE (standard) version.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎09-07-2004
Message 6 of 6 (11,416 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013 Suddenly won't start up

04-17-2012 02:13 PM in reply to: brians

Ok, don't forget to check the "Accept as Solution" box so the post is marked as solved.

 

Here is the site for checking for drivers in case you were just using the built in tool.

Certified Hardware Database

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube