AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,127
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 1 of 13 (382 Views)
Accepted Solution

Arrays?!

382 Views, 12 Replies
10-11-2012 11:16 AM

What the &%#! happened to the Array command?  And when did this come about,... and why wasn't I consulted?  For 20 years I used DDARRAY in Acad... went to use it today for the first time in, well, a long time.... and it ain't there!  Now all of your options are typed at the keyboard with multiple key shortcuts, and the result is grouped so you have to explode it to get rid of one or more items.

 

Wow... just goes to show us old folks, don't turn your backs for too long.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 13 (378 Views)

Re: Arrays?!

10-11-2012 11:26 AM in reply to: cbenner

Hi,

 

>> ... just goes to show us old folks ...

That we also may use the help (or search the forum) if options or commands changed :smileywink: >>>click<<<

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
bluebrad60
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 3 of 13 (370 Views)

Re: Arrays?!

10-11-2012 11:36 AM in reply to: cbenner

This should make you feel a little better.

 

_arrayclassic

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,141
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 13 (346 Views)

Re: Arrays?!

10-11-2012 03:11 PM in reply to: cbenner

cbenner wrote:

... and the result is grouped so you have to explode it to get rid of one or more items.

 



If you turn off Associative when creating - you don't have to explode.  The new command is far more powerful than the old array.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,596
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 13 (319 Views)

Re: Arrays?!

10-12-2012 05:31 AM in reply to: cbenner

Upgrade your skills set, the new Array has power now: explore the many good quality videos on YouTube for demonstrations, far easier than reading through a manual I think, to show you how.

 

For the old command, type ARRAYCLASSIC at the command line and go retro :smileyhappy:

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,475
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 6 of 13 (308 Views)

Re: Arrays?!

10-12-2012 06:01 AM in reply to: cbenner

Does anybody else think its odd that an OP has a signature line that reads:

 

'Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question'

 

I don't see that he has accepted any of the good responses as a solution either.

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,127
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 7 of 13 (298 Views)

Re: Arrays?!

10-12-2012 06:25 AM in reply to: dbroad

If you all will give me a little time to respond before lambasting me,....

 

I appreciate ALL of the input.  I use 2D autocad about .5% of my time on the job.

 

My comment was meant to be slightly humerous, relating to how out of touch one can be when not using the product that often.  I DO see the power of the new tool, and if I ever have the need to do an array again in the future, I will explore that.

 

JD, thanks... your answers are always appreciated.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,475
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 8 of 13 (288 Views)

Re: Arrays?!

10-12-2012 07:19 AM in reply to: cbenner

Sorry,

I wasn't aware that I was "lambasting" you.  I was primarily noting that putting the "Accept solution" notation in a signature line reads wrong in an original post on a topic.  Too bad there is no automatic forum feature to automate that part of a signature in a followup post.

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,127
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 9 of 13 (279 Views)

Re: Arrays?!

10-12-2012 08:48 AM in reply to: dbroad

I should probably turn that into a macro, this was something that a bunch of us in the Inventor forum started using a few years ago, to encourage posters to use the accept button.  As a macro I could turn it on and off if needed.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,026
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 10 of 13 (276 Views)

Re: Arrays?!

10-12-2012 08:54 AM in reply to: dbroad

It's as automatic as a signature, if you know how to set it up. It was introduced by autodesk as part of this rating system that lets people know if you are a Newb or third Dan or a Mage or whatever. They actually encourage people to add that automatic tag line, so as to encourage others to mark solutions as accepted, and hopefully whose solution was accepted.

 

Therefore, when someone with the tag line asks a question themselves, the tag line still shows up...

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube