AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Valued Contributor
knmdk
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Message 1 of 6 (610 Views)
Accepted Solution

3D Solid display problem

610 Views, 5 Replies
06-17-2013 03:15 PM

Hello,

 

I've made some 3D bolts. The thread was made with Helix, Polyline and Sweep commands. I've used bolts in many models. And so did my co-workers.

 

However the bolts started to display weirdly all of a sudden. The thread of every bolt becomes enormously huge and takes 1/2 of screen. This happens in 2D Wireframe, X-Ray, Wireframe views (thouse you use most). In other view modes bolts appear as they should.

 

The only workaround that delivers the fix is exploding the thread 3D Solid to Surface. But that's not an option at the moment. I've tried creating a fresh drawing (and pasting bolts there) and recovering existing ones. No luck - weird huge thread is there.

 

I'm using mainly Wireframe view like any other engeneer.  It's impossible to do my work now.

 

Please have a look at the attached DWG. Hope someone has a fix for this.

 

P.S. I'm so fed up with AutoCAD bugs.

*Expert Elite*
nestly2
Posts: 1,329
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Message 2 of 6 (593 Views)

Re: 3D Solid display problem

06-17-2013 04:17 PM in reply to: knmdk

Have you tried redefining (resaving) the block.  While you're in the block editor, check the color of the hex head, it displays "white" but it's assigned the color "red".  I changed it to BYLAYER like the other objects and saved.  It was displaying normally afterward, but I didn't play with it much to see whether it would expand again. 

 

Also, if you don't need the original helix path in the block definition, get rid of it.

Valued Contributor
knmdk
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Message 3 of 6 (564 Views)

Re: 3D Solid display problem

06-17-2013 08:15 PM in reply to: nestly2

Thanks, nestly2. I've tried everything you suggested. That didn't help. While trying to fix it I've already tried redefining the block (re-saving it). It doesn't work too.

 

I've tried unioning solids, exploding thread solid to surface, saving to older DWG and reopening - nothing works. Once I switch to Wireframe-based view all crap gets back to my model space.

 

This is so bad. I can't even do a flatshot because of this terrible bug. **** you Autodesk!

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,663
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 4 of 6 (549 Views)

Re: 3D Solid display problem

06-17-2013 10:15 PM in reply to: knmdk

Hi,

 

Now your block looks as it should in any of Visual styles.

I recreated the thread - look at source triangle - I aligned it in another way (yours is cyan, my is red)

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,663
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 5 of 6 (547 Views)

Re: 3D Solid display problem

06-17-2013 10:16 PM in reply to: knmdk
>>>>This is so bad. I can't even do a flatshot because of this terrible bug. **** you Autodesk!
If you can, please, take your words back.

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Valued Contributor
knmdk
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Message 6 of 6 (502 Views)

Re: 3D Solid display problem

06-18-2013 10:25 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Hey, Maxim, that was tough. I totally appreciate your input! We will re-do screwed bolts with the right coordinates alignment. Somehow not all of them are this way.

 

In case someone else experience same problem I came across a thread with the same issue. Maybe a better fix wil be provided in this thread or another one.  

 

P.S. As it goes to "please take your words back". Well seriously there's nothing wrong with word "dаmn". I'm so frustrated now since automatic parser replaced "dаmn" with ****. I've used cyrillic "a" to pass the check this time. So I guess it's again Autodesk's fault :-).

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube