AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
lower1
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-25-2011
Message 1 of 15 (30,661 Views)
Accepted Solution

(softlock license manager) is not functioning or is improperly installed

30661 Views, 14 Replies
06-26-2011 06:55 PM

I just installed autocad and this is what happened on the first boot.  I've uninstalled, rebooted, reinstalled and rebooted and still got this error.  What can I do?

 

 

Here is the exact error:  The security system (softlock license manager) is not functioning or is improperly installed

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,596
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 15 (30,603 Views)

Re: (softlock license manager) is not functioning or is improperly installed

06-29-2011 01:59 PM in reply to: lower1

This is most certainly a file permissions problem.  Make sure you give Everyone full rights to the following folders/files:

 

On Vista or Windows 7:

C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet\adskflex_*.data

C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet\adskflex_*.data.backup 


On Windows XP:

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\FLEXnet\adskflex_*.data

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\FLEXnet\adskflex_*.data.backup

 

Always install and run your Autodesk products with local Administrator privileges. 

 

For faster responses concerning Autodesk licensing issues, please post your questions in the Installation and Network Licensing user forum here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/bd-p/24

 

 

Help Improve the Autodesk Discussion Groups
--------------------------------------------------------
If I was able to resolve your issue, please select the "Accept as Solution" option so that you can help fellow members quickly find solutions to their problems. Please add Kudos to a post if you were helped by a post that you did not author.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
New Member
rbastian1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Message 3 of 15 (28,340 Views)

Re: (softlock license manager) is not functioning or is improperly installed

01-24-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: lower1

This solution did not work.  Is there anything else I can try?  Do I need to uninstall and reinstall?  I am running Windows Vista 32 bit.

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-22-2012
Message 4 of 15 (26,650 Views)

Re: (softlock license manager) is not functioning or is improperly installed

04-22-2012 10:48 AM in reply to: rbastian1

its a late reply, but since i got the same problem (and this is the first hit you get on google) i will tell you how to fix it

 

shut down the software

simply DELETE the files mentioned above!

Empty recycle bin!

 

Reopen the software, type in license key again

 

problem fixed :smileyhappy:

 

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-15-2012
Message 5 of 15 (22,227 Views)

Re: (softlock license manager) is not functioning or is improperly installed

12-15-2012 03:31 AM in reply to: lower1

what about windows 8??? i just can't find these files!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,366
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 15 (22,222 Views)

Re: (softlock license manager) is not functioning or is improperly installed

12-15-2012 06:28 AM in reply to: lower1
Try setting Win8 to search hidden and locked folders
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
roadwayws
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-22-2011
Message 7 of 15 (20,321 Views)

Re: (softlock license manager) is not functioning or is improperly installed

03-07-2013 03:07 AM in reply to: lower1

Here is a Ps to my last post, All my other programs in the suite work.

Now my "cad" just does not even try to open. just shuts down and I dont the Softlock error after deleting the files, and no place to put a serial number.

 

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
Message 8 of 15 (11,922 Views)

Re: (softlock license manager) is not functioning or is improperly installed

11-01-2013 07:03 PM in reply to: roadwayws

hi
i have the same problem
did you mange to fix yours?
if so pleas tell me how

 

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-28-2013
Message 9 of 15 (9,921 Views)

Re: (softlock license manager) is not functioning or is improperly installed

11-28-2013 10:26 PM in reply to: annie.graf.87

Have you tried to start FLEXnet Licensing Service 64 service?

Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-25-2013
Message 10 of 15 (8,000 Views)

Re: (softlock license manager) is not functioning or is improperly installed

12-25-2013 07:41 PM in reply to: jaforii

the autoCAD 2014 worked in my windows 8 but after the windows 8.1 update, i got that softlock license error and autocad won't open. i did all the steps mentioned and still did not work. i tried also reinstalling it more than 3 times already. i also tried removing the FLEXNET files.. but still did not work.. please help me. i need this for my project study. what should i do??

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube