AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
Moshe-A
Posts: 735
Registered: ‎09-14-2003
Message 1 of 12 (2,111 Views)
Accepted Solution

running out of memory R2009/R2010/R2011

2111 Views, 11 Replies
02-28-2011 08:15 AM

Hi Guys,

 

Would like to open this issue again...

 

since R2009 this is poping up

 

untill R2008 there was no problem at all,  you could open as much as 1-10 drawings at the same time

 

i have seen this in machines:-

win/XP sp3 32bit with 4gb ram

and win7 32bit with 4gb ram

also did define the /GB switch (in boot.ini)

 

what is changed in R2009 (& up) that R2008 (& below) does not have?

 

Does Autodesk is going to resoved this (like Service Pack/patch)?

 

Thanks in advance

Moshe

 

 

New Member
DavidGabriel6721
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-13-2010
Message 2 of 12 (2,100 Views)

Re: running out of memory R2009/R2010/R2011

02-28-2011 08:47 AM in reply to: Moshe-A

I would agree with the question.  We went from 2008 to 2011, and are really struggling with Out of Memory errors.  When contacting AutoDesk on this issue, I didn't receive much insight other than deleting temp files, closing down other programs, increasing virtual memory settings, etc.

 

When running 2008 we had virtually no issues.

 

Dave Gabriel

*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 3 of 12 (2,069 Views)

Re: running out of memory R2009/R2010/R2011

02-28-2011 09:40 AM in reply to: DavidGabriel6721

I have noticed before, that when you start the program it uses x amount of memory. When you work on a drawing and then close it, the memory use still is more than x. This appears to be a cumulative issue, like the TSR behavior of Windows 95! I have taken to having Task Manager up, and keeping an eye on the overall AutoCAD memory usage. Once it approaches 800,000 Kb then I shut it down before it has a chance to lock up. I usually have to also do a cold boot or I won't get my ribbon back!

I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
Distinguished Mentor
Moshe-A
Posts: 735
Registered: ‎09-14-2003
Message 4 of 12 (1,993 Views)

Re: running out of memory R2009/R2010/R2011

03-01-2011 01:41 AM in reply to: Moshe-A

Dave thank you for your input

 

Modman,

 

You can not expect a simple user to relay on task manager

he does not need to know/understand what is task manager at all

 

let admit the fact,  AutoCAD 2009-2011 has a series problem with it Memory Managment

and they does nothing about it  (at least until now)

 

Moshe

 

 

 

Valued Mentor
TrevN
Posts: 548
Registered: ‎04-14-2008
Message 5 of 12 (1,991 Views)

Re: running out of memory R2009/R2010/R2011

03-01-2011 01:44 AM in reply to: Moshe-A

And they will continue to do nothing about it!

 

They know it works on 64bit machines that run much higher RAM, that is your only cure.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,638
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 12 (1,954 Views)

Re: running out of memory R2009/R2010/R2011

03-01-2011 09:59 AM in reply to: TrevN

What is the exact error message? There is always something you can do about it, the error is from Windows and you need to find out why. It's most likely not an AutoCAD-only trigger, but something else helping it along.

 

Second question: why are you running 32bit Win7? That often means you are running an 'add-on' or another program that needs it: what is it.

 

What is your chosen Anti-Virus program?

 

Win7 have many diagnostic tools, unlike old XP, what have you researched internally? Or as a test (it will be painful to use), start XP in Safe Mode and/or Win7 is Diagnostic Mode (this disables all other programs) and try to repeat the issue in AutoCAD.

Find out what's causing Win7 reliability issues (crashes or application hangs) type reliability in the Instant Search bar to open the Reliability Monitor; it will show your system's reliability history over a period of time and what seems to hit your reliability the most.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 7 of 12 (1,953 Views)

Re: running out of memory R2009/R2010/R2011

03-01-2011 09:59 AM in reply to: Moshe-A

Moshe,

 

What's wrong with a "simple user" learning how to work with the equipment they have been given? I am sure these "simple users" are being given fairly complex tasks, yesno?

 

Holdupnow....if memory serves, autodesk did release a resource monitor not too long ago. Either that or it was someone else's item but it was free and the link was given in a forum post several months ago. This should be an acceptable monitoring solution without those "simple users" having access to info about the rest of their PC's resources. try searching the forums for it...

 

Of course, that still doesn't solve the TSr problem :smileysad:

I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
Distinguished Mentor
Moshe-A
Posts: 735
Registered: ‎09-14-2003
Message 8 of 12 (1,928 Views)

Re: running out of memory R2009/R2010/R2011

03-01-2011 01:14 PM in reply to: Moshe-A

Dean & Modman,

 

a "simple user" is Draftman not a computer expert

a Darftmans job is to draw engineering drawings that's what thery are paid for

and they do not care is they are working on win/xp or win7

all they beed is AutoCAD to run smoothly

 

why should users run a diagnostic tool or any other system memory utilitys?

 did they need to do so under R2008 (& before)

 

why would an AutoCAD client want to upgrade to R2009-2011?

instead of getting a better AutoCAD system they are going BACK

 

Moshe

 

Distinguished Mentor
jaich
Posts: 562
Registered: ‎10-19-2010
Message 9 of 12 (1,913 Views)

Re: running out of memory R2009/R2010/R2011

03-01-2011 08:29 PM in reply to: Moshe-A

a "simple user" is Draftman not a computer expert

a Darftmans job is to draw engineering drawings that's what thery are paid for

and they do not care is they are working on win/xp or win7

 

Wow!  Crack that whip, taskmaster.  Keeping them dumb is a way to keep them cheap, I guess. 

Valued Mentor
stevenelliott3894
Posts: 474
Registered: ‎06-14-2010
Message 10 of 12 (1,888 Views)

Re: running out of memory R2009/R2010/R2011

03-02-2011 07:37 AM in reply to: Moshe-A

Moshe-A wrote:

 

a "simple user" is Draftman not a computer expert

a Darftmans job is to draw engineering drawings that's what thery are paid for

and they do not care is they are working on win/xp or win7

all they beed is AutoCAD to run smoothly

 

why should users run a diagnostic tool or any other system memory utilitys?

 did they need to do so under R2008 (& before)

 


The same reason a 'simple' driver should know how to check the oil and tire pressure. To head off troubles. Sure, you can have a car 'expert' do these things, but it takes a lot more time (and therefore cost) to have an 'expert' make routine checks, when it could be handled by a 'simple' operator of the equipment. (Unless your operators are little old ladies from Pasadena)

 

Please don't hurt me!

 

 

Steven Elliott

When I was a little bitty boy, my grandmother bought me a cute little toy. Silver bells hangin' on a string... she told me it was my ding-a-ling-a-ling!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube