AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
Kevin078
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎05-11-2010
Message 1 of 7 (418 Views)
Accepted Solution

nested blocks

418 Views, 6 Replies
04-13-2012 01:31 PM

Is there a quick/easy way to know if a DWG constains nested blocks?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 7 (404 Views)

Re: nested blocks

04-14-2012 01:20 AM in reply to: Kevin078

Hi,

 

>> Is there a quick/easy way to know if a DWG constains nested blocks?

Not without development.

 

Whatfor do you need that? For the structure of a drawing it's irrelevant if there are nested blocks or not, isn't it?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
Kevin078
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎05-11-2010
Message 3 of 7 (397 Views)

Re: nested blocks

04-14-2012 01:41 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

We're managing a project that includes handing over ACAD DWGs we didn't create, so they can be converted to  MicroStation DGNs. We've been informed the DWGs being converted can't have nested blocks. We've also been told the DWGs don't contain nested blocks, but we'd like to confirm that before handing them to the the client.

 

Thanks,

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 7 (394 Views)

Re: nested blocks

04-14-2012 02:21 PM in reply to: Kevin078

Hi,

 

so it will end in development (or you upload DWG(s) and anyone of us will check them for you, hopefully).

 

Thinking about the internals of how a DWG-file is structured each DWG: as the modelspace is one blockdefinition and if you have inserted one (or more) BlockReferences info it it's already a nested block situation .... but I don't think you mean that, do you :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
Kevin078
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎05-11-2010
Message 5 of 7 (383 Views)

Re: nested blocks

04-15-2012 11:41 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Please define 'development' in this context.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 7 (381 Views)

Re: nested blocks

04-15-2012 11:52 AM in reply to: Kevin078

Hi,

 

>> Please define 'development' in this context.

There is no built in function within AutoCAD that lists the nested Blocks in a drawing. That has to be developed: a small programm has to be written that scans through the blocks and creates that list.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
Kevin078
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎05-11-2010
Message 7 of 7 (380 Views)

Re: nested blocks

04-15-2012 11:53 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Ok, thanks for the info.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube