AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
rbalusek
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-09-2005
Message 1 of 7 (238 Views)

lists of blocks

238 Views, 6 Replies
05-24-2012 02:47 PM

we have created a large number of blocks out on our network and are continously adding to them.  anybody know a good way to provide a list or thumbnails of available blocks without having to create a drawing with all the blocks inserted to it.  i just need to be able to communicate all available blocks to new hires, engineers, etc.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,962
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 7 (228 Views)

Re: lists of blocks

05-24-2012 10:50 PM in reply to: rbalusek

Hi,

 

do you need a file with thumbnails or just the visuality like a screenshot? If second one is ok then just use Windows-Explorer, goto the directory and set the option for showing the list of files as "large symbols" (or any other size).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
New Member
DeuCeNTX
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-25-2012
Message 3 of 7 (210 Views)

Re: lists of blocks

05-25-2012 08:14 AM in reply to: rbalusek

One way you could do it is to categorize them and create separate toolbars and place those toolbars on the edge of the drawing space. AutoCAD should automatically create a smaller "icon" version of the drawing or block which sounds like would give you what you are looking for.

 

Research toolbars and their options. Each block can be created in a separate drawing for easy changing (without having to explode and redefine the block) but you might want to pay close attention to how AutoCAD inserts these blocks and drawings so that you ensure you are getting the most updated block. I believe if they are separate drawings, when you insert the "block" it will insert whatever is in the .dwg file (the entire drawing is inserted) so it goes out and gets the .dwg on insert which should ensure it's the current file.

 

You can even get even more in depth with it and create a separate "workspace" so that those toolbars are only visible when you need them if you only use them for certain types of drawings. 

 

Best of luck to you and I hope this gives you some ideas...

 

Trae

Distinguished Contributor
eyde
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎02-07-2008
Message 4 of 7 (198 Views)

Re: lists of blocks

05-25-2012 02:05 PM in reply to: rbalusek

Why not put all your blocks on tool paletes?

Active Contributor
rbalusek
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-09-2005
Message 5 of 7 (193 Views)

Re: lists of blocks

05-25-2012 02:50 PM in reply to: rbalusek

i don't think tool palletes or toolbars would be very beneficial.  our engineers need to benefit from our block lists, but are using autocadLT and all of us have individual licenses and stand alone installations.

*Expert Elite*
3wood
Posts: 1,003
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 6 of 7 (183 Views)

Re: lists of blocks

05-25-2012 10:36 PM in reply to: rbalusek

Please try LISTBLOCKS.vlx. It inserts blocks into a drawing and creates printable sheets automatically.

 

3wood

CAD KITS

Active Contributor
rbalusek
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-09-2005
Message 7 of 7 (155 Views)

Re: lists of blocks

05-29-2012 06:43 AM in reply to: rbalusek

This sounds great!

 

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.