AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
rewis
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎01-20-2009
Message 1 of 31 (199 Views)
Accepted Solution

jerky pickbox in only one drawing

199 Views, 30 Replies
10-16-2013 04:11 PM

I have read everything I can find in the search results and tried a lot of suggestions but my issue is a jerky pickbox in only one drawing file and it just started after working in this file for a month or so. All other files are fine. Everything I have found relates to the problem in all files and not just one. Is there anything that is in this particular file that would cause this?

It's to the point that the file is useless and over a month of work is lost. I've tried copy/paste into a new file for the lack of knowing anything else to do.

I really need to salvage this file. I make frequent copies of all files as I progress with them and unfortunately I copied this file just before the issue arose and that copy file is also contaminated. I've learned now that you can backup files too often!

Anyone have a suggestion? Please.

 

Thanks,

Russell

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,638
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 31 (189 Views)

Re: jerky pickbox in only one drawing

10-16-2013 05:12 PM in reply to: rewis
SNAP (F9 key) got toggled on by chance?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
rewis
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎01-20-2009
Message 3 of 31 (187 Views)

Re: jerky pickbox in only one drawing

10-16-2013 05:18 PM in reply to: pendean

No, but it is similar to snap but far more erratic than snap and it is only in one particular file. All other files are fine.

Valued Contributor
rewis
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎01-20-2009
Message 4 of 31 (180 Views)

Re: jerky pickbox in only one drawing

10-16-2013 05:51 PM in reply to: rewis

Thanks Dean for the reply but don't stop now!

*Expert Elite*
nestly2
Posts: 1,279
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Message 5 of 31 (170 Views)

Re: jerky pickbox in only one drawing

10-16-2013 09:24 PM in reply to: rewis

Have you tried using WBLOCK to export the objects in the current drawing into a "clean" drawing.

Valued Contributor
rewis
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎01-20-2009
Message 6 of 31 (153 Views)

Re: jerky pickbox in only one drawing

10-17-2013 05:32 AM in reply to: nestly2

Yes Nestly, very many times through the night and that corrects the problem.........except when I close the drawing and reopen it the problem is back.

 

Thanks for the suggestion.

Russell

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,329
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 7 of 31 (130 Views)

Re: jerky pickbox in only one drawing

10-18-2013 11:54 AM in reply to: rewis

Can you post your file?

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.
Valued Contributor
rewis
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎01-20-2009
Message 8 of 31 (120 Views)

Re: jerky pickbox in only one drawing

10-18-2013 02:50 PM in reply to: doni49

Sorry for the delay in responding. Out of Pocket all day. The file is 3,500 KBs and it will not go.

 

Thanks,

Russell

 

Valued Contributor
rewis
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎01-20-2009
Message 9 of 31 (114 Views)

Re: jerky pickax in only one drawing

10-18-2013 03:04 PM in reply to: rewis

One additional symptom. I can start a fresh file and copy/paste the problem drawing into it and all is fine...until I close the file and re-open it and then it's back to being jerky again.

 

Thanks,

Russell

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,329
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 10 of 31 (111 Views)

Re: jerky pickbox in only one drawing

10-18-2013 03:04 PM in reply to: rewis
Save the file to a different location. The on the copy, run purgeall command (repeat until there's nothing left to purge). Then if need be, zip the file.

The purge will make the file smaller. The zip will also be smaller yet. AND I think the site permits zip files larger than the dwg files it permits.

You should be able to post after that.
Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube