AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
dougy_8505
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 1 of 8 (363 Views)

in school and need help figuring out something...

363 Views, 7 Replies
09-28-2012 10:59 AM

Ok i have been using autocad 2012 for some time now so i end up getting ahead of my teacher, well i created 2 drawings according to the book we are using, but he decided he wanted the drawings done in MM instead of Inchs, so i was wondering if there is a way to covert my drawing from inch to MM?

*Expert Elite*
M_Hensley
Posts: 1,676
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 2 of 8 (359 Views)

Re: in school and need help figuring out something...

09-28-2012 11:23 AM in reply to: dougy_8505

If the units drawn represent inches you can use the SCALE command and scale up all your objects by 25.4 to make them represent millimeters.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,044
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 3 of 8 (358 Views)

Re: in school and need help figuring out something...

09-28-2012 11:25 AM in reply to: dougy_8505

You could use the SCALE command to change the size of everything, but in the real world thats like hitting it with a sledgehammer.  You will end up with odd-numbered sizes which is usually discouraged; most things need to be built and those in the field work faster with 1000mm instead of 1016mm.  Certain manufactured objects are constructed and/or labelled differently in metric units than they are in imperial units so may not even be available in the that converted size.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Active Member
dougy_8505
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 4 of 8 (348 Views)

Re: in school and need help figuring out something...

09-28-2012 11:54 AM in reply to: dougy_8505

ty guys

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,161
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 8 (317 Views)

Re: in school and need help figuring out something...

09-29-2012 04:42 AM in reply to: dougy_8505

Are you to change the physical size or only the units of the dimensions?  If you only need to convert the inch dimensions to equivalent size metric dimensions - that is pretty easy to do in the dimension styles.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,026
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 6 of 8 (259 Views)

Re: in school and need help figuring out something...

10-05-2012 09:12 AM in reply to: JDMather

...or you start a new drawing with a metric template, copy and paste the imperial one into the metric one, find a known metric dimension, then scale the whole thing by reference to the new dimension...

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Distinguished Contributor
Kazo
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎04-30-2006
Message 7 of 8 (189 Views)

Re: in school and need help figuring out something...

10-10-2012 06:57 PM in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

Perfect answer Bob!

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,026
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 8 of 8 (168 Views)

Re: in school and need help figuring out something...

10-11-2012 09:26 AM in reply to: Kazo

10-Q Boyce! :smileyvery-happy:

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube