AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
jerome.chamfray
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-11-2011
Message 1 of 12 (365 Views)

file size

365 Views, 11 Replies
04-09-2012 03:04 AM

I have a few drawings that I am not able to reduce the file size.

I have tried to attached a blank drawing that is over 20Mb to this message but it is too large to upload.

I have tried everything.

If I draw a polyline in this drawing and copy and paste it in another drawing the new drawing become over 20Mb as well!!

 

Please help!!

 

Thanks,

 

Jerome

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,962
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 12 (363 Views)

Re: file size

04-09-2012 03:14 AM in reply to: jerome.chamfray

Hi,

 

What vertical product or what application do you have on top of AutoCAD?

If you paste the polyline to a new drawing, what filesize did this "new drawing" had before?

 

And some options to cleanup drawings:

  • have you tried _AUDIT?
  • have you tried to start the layer-dialog and remove layer-filters you don't need?
  • have you tried to remove anno-scales using command _-SCALELISTEDIT and option RESET?

 

In worst case (I don't say that often, I know) look to some free upload-internetserver, upload your file there and put the link to the file here.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
jerome.chamfray
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-11-2011
Message 3 of 12 (362 Views)

Re: file size

04-09-2012 03:20 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

hello,

 

I have used the standard ACAD template that is arround 300kb to paste in the polyline.

I am using Cvil 3D and have already purged the styles and everything else, regapps, -scalelistedit and removed layer filter. The drawing only has layer 0 and defpoint.

 

Many thanks,

 

Jerome

Active Member
jerome.chamfray
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-11-2011
Message 4 of 12 (359 Views)

Re: file size

04-09-2012 03:27 AM in reply to: jerome.chamfray

even if I wblock the polyline the new file become over 20Mb

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,962
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 12 (357 Views)

Re: file size

04-09-2012 03:33 AM in reply to: jerome.chamfray

Hi, look to private messages, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,962
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 12 (345 Views)

Re: file size

04-09-2012 06:20 AM in reply to: jerome.chamfray

Hi,

 

got your drawing, and at the moment it's just an info:

you have thousands of unnamed blocks (block-definitions beginning with "*") in your drawing. And what I don't know at the moment is why these are copied to a new drawing if you just copy a (newly created line) from this drawing to a new empty drawing.

What I have seen (you can use the _PURGED command to look at the objects that can't be purged ==> there are a lot of linetypes coming from a binded XRef. Also these objects are copied to a new drawing.

 

It seems to be some XRecords that created hard-links also to new geometry and becaues of this referencing they are copied to new drawings. At the moment I have no idea of how to get rid of this except of not using this drawing.

I'll do some tests, when I get a solution I let you know it.

 

Sorry for the moment, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Mentor
jonmcfarlandWS
Posts: 259
Registered: ‎09-22-2010
Message 7 of 12 (327 Views)

Re: file size

04-09-2012 10:36 AM in reply to: jerome.chamfray

You can also try purging registered application (Regapps).

Type

-purge <Enter> Starts the purge cammand from the Command line

R <Enter> Purges registered apps

* <Enter> All named registered apps

N <Enter> Do not confirm names

 

This should delete them and should be run after you've purged everything else.

 

Hope this helps,

 

Jon

 

 

Jon

Please select "Accept as Solution" if your question was answered.
curtainwallBIM.blogspot.com
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
jerome.chamfray
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-11-2011
Message 8 of 12 (300 Views)

Re: file size

04-09-2012 10:20 PM in reply to: jerome.chamfray

Jon,

 

Thank you for the reply. It is one of the first thing that I did.

Alfred has identified the problem. We now need to find a solution. I have also asked the Autodesk team to look at it.

 

Regards,

 

Jerome

Active Member
jerome.chamfray
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-11-2011
Message 9 of 12 (290 Views)

Re: file size

04-10-2012 04:01 AM in reply to: jerome.chamfray

Running the folowing macro, I have managed to reduce the size to 1.5MB but the size should be closer to 300Kb.

When I create a line in the drawing and copy it to a new drawing the drawing becomes also 1.5Mb. I just don't understand why everything is being copied over.

Sub PurgeBlocks()
Dim ssBlocks As AcadBlocks
Dim oObj As Object
Dim oBlock As AcadBlock
'Dim bReferenced As Boolean
'    bReferenced = True
'    Do While bReferenced = True
'        bReferenced = False
        Set ssBlocks = ThisDrawing.Blocks
        Debug.Print "There are ", ssBlocks.Count, " blocks in the drawing database"
        For Each oObj In ssBlocks
            If TypeOf oObj Is AcadBlock Then
                Set oBlock = oObj
                Debug.Print oBlock.Name,
                If oBlock.IsLayout = False Then
                    On Error Resume Next
                    oBlock.Delete
                    If Err <> 0 Then
'                        If InStr(Err.Description, "Object is referenced") > 0 And InStr(oBlock.Name, "*") = 0 Then
'                            bReferenced = True
'                        End If
                        Debug.Print Err.Description
                        Err.Clear
                    Else
                        Debug.Print "has been purged"
                    End If
                Else
                    Debug.Print
                End If
                On Error GoTo 0
            End If
        Next
'    Loop
'Dim bReferenced As Boolean
'    bReferenced = True
'    Do While bReferenced = True
'        bReferenced = False

'    Loop
End Sub

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,962
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 10 of 12 (287 Views)

Re: file size

04-10-2012 04:35 AM in reply to: jerome.chamfray

Hi,

 

wow, I didn't think of that is such simple, just to erase the blockdefinitions.

Great that you tried that and gave that feedback here!

 

Anyway ... a Civil3D drawing having just a few kb? No that won't work, a little template (not having to much Civil3D-styles has already > 1MB, so if you have 1.5MB (and besides the option to start the VBA-macro 2 more times) I see a few textstyles and a few dimstyles, but that's not what raises the drawings size much.

 

I'm wondering again that copy&paste of a newly created geometry-entity does pull those other things into the new drawing. So I would guess there is something not correct with this drawing (but I don't know what it is, sorry).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.