AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Mentor
engineer4life1979
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 1 of 8 (3,907 Views)

drawing perpendicular line

3907 Views, 7 Replies
08-05-2010 05:43 PM

this maybe a dumb question, but how can i draw a perpendicular line from a point in a line, going away from it? to make it clear, lets say i have a pline that looks like a triangle edge (like ^); i want to pick the midpoint of one of the edges, and draw a line perp. to the midpoint. note that i want to accomplish this without setting up a UCS and using ORTHO. any other ways?

Civil 3D 2013 SP1, Win 7-64 bit
12GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
3wood
Posts: 985
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 2 of 8 (3,904 Views)

Re: drawing perpendicular line

08-05-2010 06:26 PM in reply to: engineer4life1979

Drawing a new line from outside of the old line perpendicular to it, then move the new line to the midpoint of the old line.

*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 898
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 8 (3,879 Views)

Re: drawing perpendicular line

08-05-2010 11:36 PM in reply to: engineer4life1979
New Member
SEESAW12
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-21-2010
Message 4 of 8 (3,625 Views)

Using perpendicular or tangent snaps

10-21-2010 11:29 AM in reply to: engineer4life1979

   Does AutoCAD 2010 use the deferred snap for perpendicular and tangent?  In older versions I could draw a line tangent to 2 arcs or circles by using the tangent snap.  ie, Line, tan to  ..  pick on first arc (or circle)  ..  tan to  ..  pick on second arc (or circle) and the line would be finished. 

 

   I could also draw a line perpendicular to another line to a point perpendicular to an arc.  ie, Line, perp to  ..  pick on a line  ..  perp to  ..  pick on an arc and the line would be finished. 

 

   This seems to have gone away in the 2010 version.  How do I get it back?

 

 

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 5 of 8 (3,613 Views)

Re: Using perpendicular or tangent snaps

10-21-2010 02:49 PM in reply to: SEESAW12

I skipped over 2010, but it still works in 2011

http://screencast.com/t/EIKynpqoAz9l

*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,574
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 6 of 8 (3,608 Views)

Re: drawing perpendicular line

10-21-2010 07:56 PM in reply to: engineer4life1979

Set polar to use "relative to last segment", start line command, use endpoint (or midp, etc), pull cursor away at a 90 degree angle and pick using polar.

 

Or rotate the ucs (UCS, O, pick line or pline) draw, rotate back.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
New Member
SEESAW12
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-21-2010
Message 7 of 8 (3,558 Views)

Re: drawing perpendicular line

10-26-2010 04:52 AM in reply to: engineer4life1979

   Thanks for your replies, but neither of you have answered my question.  My deferred snaps do not work.  How do I get them back or do they work at all in the 2010 version ??  I don't want a 'work around'.  I can do that myself, I just want my deferred snaps to work properly.

 

Let me repeat my question:

 

   Does AutoCAD 2010 use the deferred snap for perpendicular and tangent?  In older versions I could draw a line tangent to 2 arcs or circles by using the tangent snap.  ie, Line, tan to  ..  pick on first arc (or circle)  ..  tan to  ..  pick on second arc (or circle) and the line would be finished. 

 

   I could also draw a line perpendicular to another line to a point perpendicular to an arc.  ie, Line, perp to  ..  pick on a line  ..  perp to  ..  pick on an arc and the line would be finished. 

 

   This seems to have gone away in the 2010 version.  How do I get it back?

 

Thanks again

*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 8 of 8 (3,551 Views)

Re: drawing perpendicular line

10-26-2010 06:28 AM in reply to: SEESAW12

I just tried it on my 2011 and it seems to work fine here. Leads me to believe something is off about your particular install. It could just be some snap behavior in some dialog box that is unchecked, just postulatin'......

I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube