AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
Joris3P
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎10-26-2009
Message 1 of 5 (262 Views)

defpoints white lines on cyan layer

262 Views, 4 Replies
01-20-2012 01:18 AM

Defpoints layer: cyan.

Hatchboundaries: color bylayer.

 

But onscreen: white ... :smileysurprised:

 

Very annoying, confusing etc. Regenerate or restarting Acad2012 doesn't solve this

 

 

Anyone sharing the same experience? And more important: how to solve this?

 

 

(Acad2012 sp1, win7, 64bits)

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,887
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (260 Views)

Re: defpoints white lines on cyan layer

01-20-2012 01:52 AM in reply to: Joris3P

Hi,

 

I tried it, created a dimension to get the "DEFPOINTS"-layer, set the color to red, draw some lines (color = bylayer) and they appear in red, as designed.

What happens if you run _AUDIT?

 

BTW: the layer DEFPOINTS is a reserved layer, I would not use it for my entities (create a layer not plotable and it's ok).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
Joris3P
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎10-26-2009
Message 3 of 5 (256 Views)

Re: defpoints white lines on cyan layer

01-20-2012 02:31 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Yup, audit doesn't resolve anything.

 

To make things more frustrating:

* opening the same drawing on another machine (same specs) results in a fine drawing (cyan remains cyan)

* it's not related to defpoints layer only, we use a temp-layer (cyan, non printable): does the same.

 

So somehow a commando or set of commando's triggers this "bug".

 

This isn't happening to me alone but luckily for me the whole office has this issue.

 

To explain what happens:

you see a white line __ properties 'color by layer', placed on layer with color 'cyan'. No overrules.

when you select that white line: it turns cyan ....

 

Strange isn't it?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,887
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 5 (253 Views)

Re: defpoints white lines on cyan layer

01-20-2012 02:38 AM in reply to: Joris3P

Hi,

 

>> when you select that white line: it turns cyan ....

This may be the most important information ... have you tried to play with the hardware-acceleration setting (command _3DCONFIG ==> Manual Tune), activate it, disable it ... to be save for your trials restart AutoCAD after changing the settings before trying how the objects represents now.

Also check for updates for

  • AutoCAD
  • GraphicCard

Additional questions:

  • if you deselect the object, does it turn back to black?
  • if you can create a new drawing (starting with a default AutoCAD template) and you can recreate the situation ==> upload this drawing?
  • have you installed any applications or tools on top of AutoCAD?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
Joris3P
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎10-26-2009
Message 5 of 5 (252 Views)

Re: defpoints white lines on cyan layer

01-20-2012 03:03 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

checked _3dconfig and played with some settings incl. the manual tune ones. Not result.

 

No updates available (one of the advantages of a freshly installed win7 machine)

 

* deselecting returns to white.

* recreate: no. :smileysad:

* no additional apps or tools.

 

BUT had an "OMG" 2 seconds ago. I create a copy of that drawing, removed all of the unneeded info to publish it here. saved that one with a different name ... and here is comes:

 

On the other pc the original drawing was still open, I closed autocad, restarted it, openend original drawing again to see that the issue still remained (logical). Afterwards I openend my renamed drawing .... and now the original drawing shows the correct colors!!!! This is just the strangest thing ever. :smileyfrustrated:

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube