AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-08-2012
Message 1 of 9 (342 Views)

adding coordinates to a drawing

342 Views, 8 Replies
06-08-2012 09:16 AM

I have a drawing with the x and y as grid references, I have an excel spreadsheet with point information with grid references which are within the range on the drawing. How do I put the excell info onto the drawing?

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,155
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 9 (338 Views)

Re: adding coordinates to a drawing

06-08-2012 09:34 AM in reply to: chris153

Go here and grab it.

 

http://lee-mac.com/ptmanager.html

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 875
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 3 of 9 (308 Views)

Re: adding coordinates to a drawing

06-09-2012 12:12 AM in reply to: chris153

With a little concatenation in your excel file you can copy and paste (and insert) the whole lot into your drawing via the command line.

 

Attached is a quick example.  Copy and paste everything in Col F to the command line and the points will be plotted.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-08-2012
Message 4 of 9 (275 Views)

Re: adding coordinates to a drawing

06-10-2012 06:58 AM in reply to: chris153

I have tried both suggestions but seemed to have got nowhere. What I was hoping for was a spot or cross where the coordinates are followed by a description of the object. I'm a complete newby to autocad and quite honestly don't know how I can make it work for me. On a .dwg file I have a map with a grid, when I move my cursor then the coordinates change, so I thought if I can input my coordinates from my excel file I can anotate my map with the objects - tree locations. What I have in one column is this

 350437,171695,Atlantic Cedar

I would like to put a coloured circle at the grid point to indicate whether it is a conifer or a broadleaved tree. And also include it's database number in the above case 0322. Any more suggestions most gratefully received. Chris

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,155
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 5 of 9 (264 Views)

Re: adding coordinates to a drawing

06-10-2012 07:16 AM in reply to: chris153

That would require Land desktop, Civil 3d or an add-on program available from DOTSOFT.COM for a cheaper price.

Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-08-2012
Message 6 of 9 (256 Views)

Re: adding coordinates to a drawing

06-10-2012 08:50 AM in reply to: chris153

Thanks for your help. Doubt if I can justify the expense so I'll just draw each one in individually. chris

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,155
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 7 of 9 (253 Views)

Re: adding coordinates to a drawing

06-10-2012 10:05 AM in reply to: chris153

Attach whatever you have, let me see if this free program I have will do what you want.

Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-08-2012
Message 8 of 9 (246 Views)

Re: adding coordinates to a drawing

06-10-2012 02:41 PM in reply to: Patchy

Thanks for the offer. I've tried sending but .dwg file is too large at 2.6m. Chris

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 9 of 9 (222 Views)

Re: adding coordinates to a drawing

06-11-2012 10:12 AM in reply to: chris153

Chris,  If your files are too large to attach to email, there are options such as "yousendit.com" as free file FTP sites - you upload your files & just send a link via email for downloading.  Might be too late now, but thought you might like to know you have options.

 

Cheers!

 

TdH


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube