AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
jleonard2500
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
Message 1 of 3 (162 Views)
Accepted Solution

Working with blocks and layers

162 Views, 2 Replies
04-30-2012 06:23 AM

Hello all,

 

I have been working for a new company who likes to use blocks extensively. My question is this, is it possible to quickly change the layer of the components of a block? That is, the lines, arcs, etc of the block. Or, is the only way to explode the block, change the layer and remake the block?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 3 (161 Views)

Re: Working with blocks and layers

04-30-2012 06:27 AM in reply to: jleonard2500

Hi,

 

>> is it possible to quickly change the layer of the components of a block?

Select one of these blocks (in modelspace or paperspace, whereever inserted) ==> right-click ==> "Block-Editor" ... that opens the blockdefinition in a separate view, change now your geometry to other layers and when finished click to close the blockeditor and save the modified blockdefinition.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
3wood
Posts: 971
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 3 of 3 (129 Views)

Re: Working with blocks and layers

05-01-2012 06:30 AM in reply to: jleonard2500

Please try CHZ20, which can change all contents in a block into a new layer.

 

3wood

CAD KITS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube