AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,302
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 1 of 6 (5,512 Views)

Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

5512 Views, 5 Replies
08-06-2010 01:29 PM

Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

 

Please, see the attached image that shows my question

 

I tried to change the color of the blocked lines but they keep with the same color…why?

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
Valued Mentor
wengle
Posts: 658
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 2 of 6 (5,502 Views)

Re: Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

08-06-2010 02:35 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

A block is nothing more than a dwg that is inserted into another dwg. In order to change the color, you must open up the original dwg, change the color(s), save it and then when you insert it into another dwg, the colors will change. Also, sometimes the block(s) will be assigned to the color of the layer you are currently working on, so, it's best to insert on a layer with white color.

Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,302
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 3 of 6 (5,497 Views)

Re: Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

08-06-2010 03:04 PM in reply to: wengle

that's great...

 

i did all that but

 

when i try to change the color of the block it doesn't change...my question is: why we can't change the color of the block?

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,876
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 4 of 6 (5,493 Views)

Re: Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

08-06-2010 03:41 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Edit the original block and change all entities to Layer 0, all entities' Color to By Block.

*Expert Elite*
3wood
Posts: 980
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 5 of 6 (5,455 Views)

Re: Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

08-08-2010 08:24 PM in reply to: ToanDN

You can either set the layer of all sub-objects in the block to Layer 0 and set their colour to Bylayer, or

set their colours to Byblock.

 

3wood

CAD KITS

*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,876
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 6 of 6 (5,449 Views)

Re: Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

08-09-2010 12:16 AM in reply to: 3wood

I think set the color of the sub-objects in the block to By Block will give you more control (able to override the color of the block to something different than the color of the layer it's on).  

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube