AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎08-23-2007
Message 1 of 6 (12,321 Views)
Accepted Solution

Viewport Scales

12321 Views, 5 Replies
05-02-2012 03:20 PM

Sorry a quick search didn't turn up the answer. In 2012, when I click on a viewport and try and to change the scale, in either quick properties or the properties window custom scale. AutoCAD only allows the standard scale settings, not a custom one. I think this is just a matter of some setting, but do not recall it.

 

TIA

 

Jim

 

 

*Expert Elite*
MarySeufert
Posts: 453
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
Message 2 of 6 (12,320 Views)

Re: Viewport Scales

05-02-2012 03:24 PM in reply to: jdonaldson3

Use SCALELISTEDIT, select new and add your custom scale as appropriate. ~ Mary


_______________________________________________________________________
Normal people believe that if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Software Engineers believe that if it ain't broke, it doesn't have enough features yet.
Valued Contributor
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎08-23-2007
Message 3 of 6 (12,315 Views)

Re: Viewport Scales

05-02-2012 04:19 PM in reply to: MarySeufert

I thought of that, but I think it's way to limiting.. I used to be able to just click it and type in what ever scale I wanted. I certainly don't want to have to sit down and create a bunch of scales I'll use every 6-9 months.

 

Jim

*Expert Elite*
MarySeufert
Posts: 453
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
Message 4 of 6 (12,311 Views)

Re: Viewport Scales

05-02-2012 04:54 PM in reply to: jdonaldson3

You still can, enter it in 'Custom Scale' under Properties. Or bring back the viewports toolbar (one of my pre ribbon favorites) and type in your scale ratio. If you can't change it, is your viewport locked?

~ Mary


_______________________________________________________________________
Normal people believe that if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Software Engineers believe that if it ain't broke, it doesn't have enough features yet.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎03-16-2006
Message 5 of 6 (12,286 Views)

Re: Viewport Scales

05-03-2012 12:44 PM in reply to: jdonaldson3

Or you could do it like us old guys - activate an unlocked viewport and type ZOOM...ENTER...0.125XP to set the viewport scale to 1:8, etc...

Valued Contributor
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎08-23-2007
Message 6 of 6 (12,273 Views)

Re: Viewport Scales

05-03-2012 04:17 PM in reply to: mies07

I was going to revert to the old zoom .###XP command today when I opened the drawing. But when I checked the viewport scale it was showing what I had typed in yesterday (1/160). Not sure about what's going on. In the properties palette, Annotation Scale = 1:1, Standard Scale = 1/160, Custom Scale = 1/128. Since this is a railroad model, I'm not concrened about text or dims (right now) just geting the plans to print correctly in paper space.

 

Thanks for all the suggestions.

 

Jim

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube