AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
pmoore14231
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-01-2011
Message 1 of 8 (920 Views)

Unable to save drawing, says its being used by another process

920 Views, 7 Replies
04-01-2011 05:21 AM

Sometimes when I go to save my drawing, it says its being used by another proces, or opened by another user, when it is not.  I have to save it to another name.  Then when I go to delete the old file, it again says its already open.  If it does let me delete the old file, it pops back up when I refresh, I can't get it to go away unless I reboot my computer.  It's not due to the computer crashing, it's not due to xref.'s, and it happens on any drive I work on.  Any suggestions as to what could cause this to happen?  Very annoying and time consuming.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,921
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 8 (911 Views)

Re: Unable to save drawing, says its being used by another process

04-01-2011 06:16 AM in reply to: pmoore14231

Antivirus software is scanning it or your network is indexing it are my guess.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Distinguished Mentor
michael.robertson
Posts: 589
Registered: ‎03-18-2008
Message 3 of 8 (909 Views)

Re: Unable to save drawing, says its being used by another process

04-01-2011 06:24 AM in reply to: pmoore14231

Look in task manager to see if more than 1 ACAD.exe is running.

 

I've had it where when I close AutoCAD the GUI goes away but the the process never stops (which keeps your file locked).

 

WHen this has happended I've run a repair and things started working correctly. This can also happen if you are using third party apps that might not behave correctly and keep ACAD from closing correctly.

Mike Robertson
FL. Dept. of Transportation
CADD Applications Developer
Contributor
jasehuss
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-15-2006
Message 4 of 8 (678 Views)

Re: Unable to save drawing, says its being used by another process

01-04-2012 07:44 AM in reply to: pmoore14231

I have had this happen on two occasions (using Civil 3D 2011 on XP 64bit), the last occasion being yesterday. I am at a loss.

It only happens when I save to networked drives, the one common thing on both occasions appears to be that I was using data extraction, unsure if this is coincidence.

 

Yesterday, I had a file that saved normally prior to the data extraction, but after adding the data extraction table to the drawing and saving CAD froze for 2-3 mins and I recieved the save error quoted in the original post. (I'm unsure if the data extraction is just coincidence)

I was then left with a dwg file on our server that I can't delete or rename.

Curiously if I use a collegues pc I can delete the offending file, however as soon as I start working on my own pc within the network location, the offening file returns!

 

Any advice appreciated as myself and my IT dept are stumped.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,648
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 8 (653 Views)

Re: Unable to save drawing, says its being used by another process

01-04-2012 01:55 PM in reply to: jasehuss

If you restart your PC (XP 64bit?) can you then delete the file?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
jasehuss
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-15-2006
Message 6 of 8 (644 Views)

Re: Unable to save drawing, says its being used by another process

01-05-2012 12:30 AM in reply to: pmoore14231

We did try, but unfortunately it made no difference.

New Member
bbockenstedt
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-11-2009
Message 7 of 8 (624 Views)

Re: Unable to save drawing, says its being used by another process

01-06-2012 11:30 AM in reply to: pmoore14231

I experienced this problem because another user had the sheet set open.

 

The file kept re-appearing, we closed the sheet set file and I was able to delete the file.

Mentor
vakhtang
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 8 of 8 (617 Views)

Re: Unable to save drawing, says its being used by another process

01-06-2012 01:12 PM in reply to: jasehuss

I also had similar problen with a drawing with pasted linked exel table. Turned out that if the table is opened on other machine it prevents autocad to close DWG file as well

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube