AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
BrentBurgess1980
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎06-16-2008
Message 1 of 5 (1,383 Views)
Accepted Solution

Unable to Load Profile

1383 Views, 4 Replies
05-01-2012 11:40 PM

I have installed AutoCAD (Map 3D 2012) onto a users machine. When I run the software, I get a message box appear saying it cant load the profile...

 

I went into the registry and noticed that his registry is missing a lot of keys for Map 3D (attached)

I have attached a copy of my registry for comparison.

 

What would typically cause this? I have tried to delete the registry entry and let it re-configure, but i get all sorts of errors (Internal Error 2738).

 

Has anyone encountered this before and if so how was it resolved?

 

I should probably mention that I am using a profile switch in the shortcut.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,880
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (1,379 Views)

Re: Unable to Load Profile

05-02-2012 03:55 AM in reply to: BrentBurgess1980

Hi,

 

I would do a repair-install and then let the user work for a few days with admin-rights (+ in Win7 start Map3D via right-click on the Map3D-icon ==> "start as administrator").

If that does not help uninstall it (clean uninstall ... you find some hints on www).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mentor
BrentBurgess1980
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎06-16-2008
Message 3 of 5 (1,363 Views)

Re: Unable to Load Profile

05-02-2012 05:00 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Thanks Alfred, I have done the repair/uninstall and nothing didnt seem to fix it. I will try to run as administrator and see how that goes.

Mentor
BrentBurgess1980
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎06-16-2008
Message 4 of 5 (1,356 Views)

Re: Unable to Load Profile

05-03-2012 01:11 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

The issue was, and I still don't know why or how it happens, is that when AutoCAD started for the first time, only LASTRUNTIME and NEWFILE were merged in under "

 

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R18.2\ACAD-A002:409]"

 

Once I added the values to look include all other values, the error disappeared.

 

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R18.2\ACAD-A002:409]
"LocalRootFolder"="C:\\Users\\burgessb2\\AppData\\Roaming\\Autodesk\\AutoCAD Map 3D 2012\\R18.2\\enu\\"
"RoamableRootFolder"="C:\\Users\\burgessb2\\AppData\\Roaming\\Autodesk\\AutoCAD Map 3D 2012\\R18.2\\enu\\"
@=""
"LaunchNFW"=dword:00000003
"NFWFile"=""
"AutodeskSharedFolder"="C:\\Program Files\\Common Files\\Autodesk Shared\\"
"AllUsersFolder"="C:\\ProgramData\\Autodesk\\AutoCAD Map 3D 2012\\R18.2\\enu\\"
"AutodeskShared32Folder"="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Common Files\\Autodesk Shared\\"
"LaunchNFWWS"=dword:00000000
"LastRunTime"=dword:4fa23767
"DefaultWorkspace"="2D Drafting Workspace"

Product Support
bryce.thelin
Posts: 408
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Message 5 of 5 (1,310 Views)

Re: Unable to Load Profile

05-08-2012 04:26 PM in reply to: BrentBurgess1980

Hi Brent,

 

I'm a little late to this tread, and I'm glad to hear you figured things out! One trick that you can do with this type of launch error is to start up AutoCAD in the user account that it works under (usually the one that installed it) so that it runs its initial setup, then exit the program and export the settings. You can then log in to the other user and import the settings there. That should get all the folders and registry keys in place that AutoCAD needs. 

 

Go ahead and click "Accept as Solution" on your last post.



Bryce Thelin

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube