AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
bluebull
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎08-27-2008
Message 1 of 9 (836 Views)
Accepted Solution

Unable to Hatch

836 Views, 8 Replies
02-13-2013 03:40 PM

Can anybody hatch this pool deck with sun chairs (blocks)?  I have included an attachment ......triming here is very tricky if not impossible.....

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,208
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 9 (822 Views)

Re: Unable to Hatch

02-13-2013 06:27 PM in reply to: bluebull

Different Z

Active Contributor
bluebull
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎08-27-2008
Message 3 of 9 (803 Views)

Re: Unable to Hatch

02-13-2013 09:35 PM in reply to: Patchy

Was this on on dwg?   it a 2D dwg...........what happened? 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 9 (794 Views)

Re: Unable to Hatch

02-13-2013 11:54 PM in reply to: bluebull

Hi,

 

>> Was this on on dwg?

It IS in your dwg, open it, use _ORBIT to rotate the view and you see it.

 

>> it a 2D dwg...........what happened?

Someone used other Z-values than 0, who did that or what command was used to create that is not stored in the drawing.

 

However, when I open your drawing AutoCAD tells me "DWG file was saved by an application not developed or licensed by Autodesk", so what have you used to create/modify this drawing?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 1,837
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 5 of 9 (774 Views)

Re: Unable to Hatch

02-14-2013 06:41 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

 

Hello

 

I hope that I have corrected all your strange Elevations !

 

Please check the DWG ...

 

Bye, Patrice

 

Bye, Pat

Active Contributor
bluebull
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎08-27-2008
Message 6 of 9 (758 Views)

Re: Unable to Hatch

02-14-2013 09:45 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

           What a mess, I got this dwg from somebody else, did not tell these me of these  parameters ....

 

 

This one  is lost,  no wonder I could not succeed. 

 

 

No more futher commets.

 

 

Lets move on.......

Valued Contributor
Kevin078
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎05-11-2010
Message 7 of 9 (728 Views)

Re: Unable to Hatch

02-15-2013 04:04 PM in reply to: bluebull

I don't have time to open the dwg, but based on the other comments, it's worth mentioning: if you're not looking straight down on a hatch (for example, either the hatch is skewed relative to the Z coordinate OR the view isn't perpenticular to the hatch) then you can get unexpected results. For instance, often the hatch won't show up.

 

DDVPOINT set to plan (assuming the hatch is in the World x/y plane) is one thing to check.

Active Contributor
bluebull
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎08-27-2008
Message 8 of 9 (721 Views)

Re: Unable to Hatch

02-15-2013 05:01 PM in reply to: Kevin078

            Thank you very much, this bit of info. was an eye opener, I did not know about this command DDVPOINT it definite make sense........

 

The problem is that sometimes there are too many people working on the same dwg. and problems are created without anybody aware of it, and without knowing where to start looking, you assumed the file is corrupted.

Valued Contributor
Kevin078
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎05-11-2010
Message 9 of 9 (659 Views)

Re: Unable to Hatch

02-19-2013 09:22 AM in reply to: bluebull

Understood. It can be like that sometime. - Playing detective can be a challenging part of the job. - By the way, if that was the issue the command FLATTEN may be of some use. A word of warning though, for very large dwgs FLATTEN (All) can take a while and/or cause ACAD to not respond. So, be sure to save your work first and you might want to FLATTEN portions of the dwg at a time.

 

For what it's worth, when ACAD says "Not Responding" sometimes it's just thinking (slowly). I've never seen this in any of the books, but doing a CTRL-ALT-DEL to the Windows Task Manager, highlighting ACAD and cancelling out of the Task Manager (DO NOT END TASK) can give ACAD a kick in the pants (& it'll start responding again).

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube