AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
henke
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎05-22-2006
Message 1 of 9 (2,360 Views)

Trying to find out where in a drawing a font is being used

2360 Views, 8 Replies
12-02-2010 09:31 AM

I am cleaning up our company standart blocks and there is a font I want purged/deleted, but I keep getting the message that the font is in use.

 

I have checked the dimension styles, the multileader styles and cannot find it.

 

Is there a way to find out where it is being used?

*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,876
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 2 of 9 (2,347 Views)

Re: Trying to find out where in a drawing a font is being used

12-02-2010 10:47 AM in reply to: henke
Attribute Blocks, Table styles?
Active Contributor
tkchaitu
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎07-08-2005
Message 3 of 9 (2,338 Views)

Re: Trying to find out where in a drawing a font is being used

12-02-2010 10:57 AM in reply to: henke

best way is to open the file in readonly mode, use explode till there are not objects left to explode and then use qselect to find the objects using that font.  Close the file without saving and open it in normal mode and change those objects.  If there are too many objects then you may want save as the exploded file only with the objects in question and use it as help to find all those objects while modifying the original file.  

I hope it is helpful.

KC

Distinguished Contributor
petestrycharske
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎09-10-2012
Message 4 of 9 (1,674 Views)

Re: Trying to find out where in a drawing a font is being used

11-05-2013 10:46 AM in reply to: tkchaitu

I am not sure how to find the font, using quick select.  I see that one can use that tool to find the text styles, but users can override text styles when creating text objects.  Is there a way that one can only search for fonts, not just the text styles?  Perhaps I am missing something here and would gladly appreciate someone straightening me out.  Hope all is well and have a most blessed day!

 

Peace,

Pete

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,834
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 9 (1,663 Views)

Re: Trying to find out where in a drawing a font is being used

11-05-2013 11:40 AM in reply to: henke
AutoCAD warned you the FONT is in use? I've never seen that behavior, it only warns you if a STYLE is in use and you can change that easily (or rename it to what you want it to be).

STYLE command is where to start.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Product Support
Volker_C
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎10-20-2011
Message 6 of 9 (1,643 Views)

Re: Trying to find out where in a drawing a font is being used

11-06-2013 08:51 AM in reply to: henke

You may have a empty text object in your drawing. Basically a placeholder for text where the content was deleted. Try using the Purge or -Purge command to remove "Zero-Length Geometry" and "Empty Text Objects.
The Technical Document TS18809891 discusses this and provides some additional methods for drawing file maintenance.

Hope this helps,
Volker

Please let us know if your questions have been answered by selecting, "Accept as Solution"



Volker Cocco
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 1,951
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 7 of 9 (1,635 Views)

Re: Trying to find out where in a drawing a font is being used

11-06-2013 09:43 AM in reply to: petestrycharske

DXFOut, then search the DXF in a text editor searching for the font name?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,834
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 8 of 9 (1,631 Views)

Re: Trying to find out where in a drawing a font is being used

11-06-2013 09:45 AM in reply to: JGerth
If AutoCAD 2012 is being used, the freeware plug-in RadicalPurge (or RPurge) from the Exchange Apps Store does a great job of purging files.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 1,951
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 9 of 9 (1,618 Views)

Re: Trying to find out where in a drawing a font is being used

11-06-2013 10:17 AM in reply to: petestrycharske

It might, since you're trying to clean things up, be a good idea to download StripMText.lsp, and eliminate all overrides in the MText objects.

 

just a suggestion to make your life easier down the road.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube