AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
bdhamilton
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎02-09-2005
Message 1 of 6 (232 Views)

Transfer CUI from 2009

232 Views, 5 Replies
04-01-2009 03:27 PM
There appears to be a way to transfer CUI elements from an earlier release to the 2010 installation, but it's not clear how this is done. I've made several modifications to my 2009 installation. Is there an easy way to make my 2010 screen look like 2009? I've already gone through the migration utility.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 6 (232 Views)

Re: Transfer CUI from 2009

04-02-2009 04:51 AM in reply to: bdhamilton
CUI command has a Transfer Tab that you can use to, well, see the title of
your post.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,722
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 3 of 6 (232 Views)

Re: Transfer CUI from 2009

04-02-2009 05:59 AM in reply to: bdhamilton
>


{quote:title=bdhamilton wrote:



}{quote}I've made several modifications to my 2009 installation. Is there an easy way to make my 2010 screen look like 2009?




Whether it's easy or not depends on what sort of modifications you made in 2009. You will have to look at your 2009 customizations and determine where they "reside" (e.g Which CUIs were customized?, Did you save workspaces?, Did you export custom profiles?).
Valued Contributor
bdhamilton
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎02-09-2005
Message 4 of 6 (232 Views)

Re: Transfer CUI from 2009

04-02-2009 08:20 AM in reply to: bdhamilton
Thanks for the help. The CUI command is confusing to me. It asks for customizations in "Main File" and "New File" and it's not clear as to which one I should be modifying. I finally figured it out, I think. First, I had to go back into 2009 and save my workspace. I had never had a reason to have more than one workspace, so I had not saved one before. Importing the workspace into 2010 did the most to make 2010 look like my settings in 2009.
**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,722
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 5 of 6 (232 Views)

Re: Transfer CUI from 2009

04-02-2009 08:37 AM in reply to: bdhamilton
Happy to help. Some of these things you just have to go in and play with to figure them out.

By the way, even if you have only one workspace, it's still a good idea to save it with an identifiable name (and make a habit of re-saving it whenever you change your interface). The workspace becomes a part of your "main" CUI, which is normally the one that changes as you make customizations to toolbars, menus, etc. If you include this CUI file and an exported profile (ARG file) in your system backup (we all do backups, right?), it can make it a lot easier to restore your customized AutoCAD environment in the case of a system problem that requires a re-install.
Contributor
DW95Grad
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎03-30-2009
Message 6 of 6 (232 Views)

Re: Transfer CUI from 2009

04-02-2009 08:44 AM in reply to: bdhamilton
I wanted the same thing, my screen and toolbars back from 2009. If you go TOOLS > OPTIONS then select teh profiles tab, select your 2009 profile and hit the set current.

It grabs all the same settings you had in 2009

Cindy

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube