AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
CarolineZhang3448
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 1 of 26 (695 Views)

Text line width in model sapce

695 Views, 25 Replies
12-04-2012 09:02 AM

This seems a trick question but it is really a hard one for me. I need to change the text line width in model space, not the overall text width or the text line width/weight in paper space. Our mould maker wants to measure that on screen and he wants to set the text line width to 0.060”, while the overall text width fixed. For example, the text “REMOVE FROM BOAT” is 3” wide total from first letter R to last letter T and height 0.4”. That is easy to do. The hard part is that he wants the line in each letter to be 0.060” (1.5mm) wide.  I practiced the truetype text which is measurable in model space, but that is fixed with for a certain font with a certain size. I can change from one font to the other and get different thickness but cannot change the width freely to 1.5mm as requested.

Can anyone tell if AutoCAD has this capability or any other software can do this?

Thank you very much in advance.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,848
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 26 (680 Views)

Re: Text line width in model sapce

12-04-2012 11:12 AM in reply to: CarolineZhang3448
You can't do what you want with system or generic fonts since your need is so exact.
You are going to have to draw each letter using AutoCAD objects like Lines and arcs.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,726
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 3 of 26 (652 Views)

Re: Text line width in model sapce

12-05-2012 07:38 AM in reply to: CarolineZhang3448

Express Tools, Explode Text (TXTEXP) will "convert" text to plines.

Contributor
CarolineZhang3448
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 4 of 26 (646 Views)

Re: Text line width in model sapce

12-05-2012 10:39 AM in reply to: CarolineZhang3448

Thanks alot, dmfrazier. The text lines can be wider now after explodinng the text to pline, but they are not smooth, see the attachment. Is there any way to get this fixed?

**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,726
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 5 of 26 (640 Views)

Re: Text line width in model sapce

12-05-2012 11:03 AM in reply to: CarolineZhang3448

That seems to be a function of the original font (what font have you used?) and the width you have assigned to the polylines.

When I do this with text using AutoCAD's RomanS font, the straight lines are all separate, while most of the curved sections remain "joined" (thankfully), while some are not "closed", so a gap appears.  These may have to be joined (as much as possible) to get them to look right when width is applied.  You will probably have to experiment with some of the different PEDIT options for smoothing the curves.

 

(Thank goodness it's not a bigger line of text!)

Contributor
CarolineZhang3448
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 6 of 26 (631 Views)

Re: Text line width in model sapce

12-05-2012 11:27 AM in reply to: dmfrazier

Thanks again, dmfrazier .

The original text was Standard font and the width was 0.055".

 

Now I change it to RomanS as yours and test again. I still got cracks at the external profile.

**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,726
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 7 of 26 (625 Views)

Re: Text line width in model sapce

12-05-2012 11:54 AM in reply to: CarolineZhang3448

I got a little bit better results with Simplex font, but I don't get the broken curves that appear in your PDF.  Are you joining the PLINE segments and using the Fit option of PEDIT to smooth out the curves?

 

Does the PDF print match what you see on screen?  If not, I think this may be a function of the PDF printer settings. 

 

The biggest issue I see is that some letters appear to have different sizes when the width is applied, because the width only applies perpendicular to the line, so some letters need to be stretched to make everything match up along the top and bottom.

 

To get the best results for your situation, you may have to experiment with several different fonts and clean-up techniques.

Contributor
CarolineZhang3448
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 8 of 26 (619 Views)

Re: Text line width in model space

12-05-2012 12:17 PM in reply to: dmfrazier

I didn't smooth out whatever I got because I didn't know how. I ust Fit in polyline and get better result but still cannot get joint outlines.

That PDF print matches the image onscreen.

 

Contributor
CarolineZhang3448
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 9 of 26 (618 Views)

Re: Text line width in model space

12-05-2012 12:19 PM in reply to: CarolineZhang3448

I doubt if AutoCAD has the capability, neither SolidWorks. Does anyone know other software that works on font line wdith?

**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,726
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 10 of 26 (611 Views)

Re: Text line width in model space

12-05-2012 01:09 PM in reply to: CarolineZhang3448

Well, AutoCAD has the capability; it's just not as simple as we were hoping.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube