Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Text as a block not needed

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
RickGSI
364 Views, 6 Replies

Text as a block not needed

Hi I'm very new to AutoCad 2013, and I currently use only 2D applications. I'm having a problem with text. No matter what font I use the text comes in as a block, if I need to make a correction I have to explode the text before I can edit it.

In my much earlier version of AutoCad I didn't have this problem. I can't find anything in the text settings windows to change this. Is there a setting or flag in 2013 that will just use text without having to explode each occurence of it for any editing?

Thanks much for any help.

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Murph_Map
in reply to: RickGSI

Are you sure it's a block? What does the property palette or if you list it show? Mtext acts like a block as it's one object instead of seperate words. What command are you using to create the text?

Murph
Supporting the troops daily.
Message 3 of 7
RickGSI

Thanks, I now see that it is MText being used on what I do. This seem to be the default when using the "leader" command. For what I do I create a standard leader with one line of text, then I will copy that leader and text multiple times to point at different objects, requiring light editing of the text each time.

But each occurrence of MText has to be exploded before editing, very annoying as I'm very used to putting the "Change" command in, but then have to break out of that to explode the text and then bring up the Change command again. (Having to explode the text is what led me to believe it was a block. But I still didn't have this problem in an earlier version of 2D AutoCad that I was trained on, it just used regular Text)