AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
jon1937
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-18-2007
Message 1 of 10 (428 Views)
Accepted Solution

System slows with command window open

428 Views, 9 Replies
05-27-2011 12:05 PM

Something's gone wrong.   With the command window displayed at the bottom of the screen, everything slows down.  The cursor momentarily freezes and it takes a second or two for commands to be fulfilled.  Also, the command window is about 7 lines high; in the past, I have shrunk it to maybe 3 or 4 lines but I cannot shrink this wndow. 

Then, when I push control-9 and the window disappears, everything speeds up to normal! 

I tried turning off my internet connection and my McAfee Viruscan as well.  Neither helped.  Running without the command window makes it hard to draft. Since I type shortcuts, I figure I must have hit the wrong key and unleashed something unspeakably terrible.

I am running AutoCAD version 10 on my PC, with Windows XP Professional.

Could someone please offer suggestions?

Contributor
joe.aash
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-28-2011
Message 2 of 10 (399 Views)

Re: System slows with command window open

05-28-2011 10:24 AM in reply to: jon1937

As far as the resize problem is concerned, make sure the LOCKUI system variable is set to 0.

 

If you remember the shortcuts, then even after closing the commandline, you can issue commands. Just type whatever command you wish to use. It will activate the command. To access any sub-options in the command, just right click on any empty area in the model space. You will get all the sub-options. 

 

I know this is not the solution to your problem, but should serve as a stop-gap measure till you find out the real issue!!

Contributor
jon1937
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-18-2007
Message 3 of 10 (395 Views)

Re: System slows with command window open

05-28-2011 12:35 PM in reply to: joe.aash

Thank you for your suggestions.

 

The LOCKUI variable is set to zero.

 

It's nice to know the right-click option (I hadn't realized that).  But, drafting without the command window is still a lot like drafting blindfolded!  Of course I can open it when I need it, but it's a real inconvenience to do so.

 

Funny, but after I hit contr-9 and the command window appears, it doesn't seem attached to the drawing at all.  I can minimize the drawing but the command window remains on the main AutoCAD screen and even appears on some of my other Windows screens.  In fact, part of the AutoCAD drawing is "hiding" behind the command window.  (I know this because, if I zoom to a windowed portion of the drawing, I can see that the lower portion which I windowed is cut off by the command window. 

 

Very curious.

Contributor
joe.aash
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-28-2011
Message 4 of 10 (383 Views)

Re: System slows with command window open

05-29-2011 05:25 AM in reply to: jon1937

This is very strange indeed! Now, even I am curious. :smileyhappy:

 

Ask yourself, when did this problem start?

 

a. Did you make any changes to your system? Update the graphics drivers, etc.

b. Install any other software?

 

If the answer to any of the above is yes, uninstall the software or driver and reboot your system.

 

You can try repairing the AutoCAD installation, if all else fails.

 

  1. Go to "Control Panel"
  2. Go to "Add/Remove Programs"
  3. Select AutoCAD 2010
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions to Repair your installation.

 

 

NOTE: If you have made any customizatizations, make sure you get an opinion as to what willl happen to them in case of a Repair/Reinstall. I don't have any idea whether the customizations will be lost or not.

Contributor
jon1937
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-18-2007
Message 5 of 10 (380 Views)

Re: System slows with command window open

05-29-2011 07:21 AM in reply to: joe.aash

Thank you for the further suggestions. I was not aware of the "repair" option. I was thinking that I would simply remove the AutoCAD program, then re-install it. (I don't think I have made any particular modifications.)

 

I do not recall installing any new programs over the last few days but of course I am always being sent updates by people like McAfee and I install those.  Possibly one of them caused AutoCAD to go haywire.

 

Is there any other way to invoke the command screen besides Ctrl-9?  Like a customization screen or something?  As I said, when I use that option, the resulting screen appears at the bottom of the page, but somehow it doesn't seem to be "part" of the page.  It seems like an overlay, with part of the drawing hiding behind it.  In the old days, the command screen was UNDER the drawing, plus I could adjust its height by sliding its top border up and down.

Contributor
joe.aash
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-28-2011
Message 6 of 10 (373 Views)

Re: System slows with command window open

05-29-2011 09:09 AM in reply to: jon1937

You have 2 more ways to activate the commandline.

 

Method 1

 

Type COMMANDLINE

 

This will bring the commandline back. But, it will open at the same position where it was closed.

 

Method 2

 

  1. Issue the command MENU.
  2. It will open a dialog box asking you the location of the AutoCAD customization file (*.cuix)
  3. The file acad.cuix will be selected by default.
  4. Simply press Enter, or click on Open.
  5. This will load the default GUI settings.

 

This should reset the command line as well as the ribbon. If you are in the classic workspace, the menubar will disappear and the ribbon will appear in its place.

 

Contributor
jon1937
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-18-2007
Message 7 of 10 (370 Views)

Re: System slows with command window open

05-29-2011 10:36 AM in reply to: joe.aash

Method 2 solved the problem!  Or, at least it appears to have done so.

 

Thank you very much for your help.  I do work in the "classic" workspace.  I just want things to look like that used to look.  I don't like change!

 

I am going to leave this thread open for a day or so,  on the chance that I may encounter a problem or two.  But, again, it appears that your suggestion has indeed provided a solution to my woes!  I wish I knew what I had done wrong, to bring me this trouble in the first place!

Contributor
joe.aash
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-28-2011
Message 8 of 10 (368 Views)

Re: System slows with command window open

05-29-2011 11:12 AM in reply to: jon1937

Good to know. Method 2 has solved a lot of my problems as well.

Active Contributor
anoopvarrghese009
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-14-2010
Message 9 of 10 (230 Views)

Re: System slows with command window open

09-29-2012 03:42 AM in reply to: jon1937

SET SELECTIONCYCLING 0

Contributor
jon1937
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-18-2007
Message 10 of 10 (224 Views)

Re: System slows with command window open

09-29-2012 07:39 AM in reply to: anoopvarrghese009

Thank you for this additional suggestion.  As I noted, I was able to solve the problem but do appreciate your help as well.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements

    Come hangout with Autodesk Support Specialist and AutoCAD guru Volker Cocco, to learn about Precision Drafting: Object Snaps and Object Tracking on July 31 @ 11:00 AM PST.

    Click here for registration information!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube