AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
hypersonic
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Message 41 of 47 (929 Views)

Re: SpaceNavigator with 2012?

05-02-2011 11:59 AM in reply to: JDMather

If you were actually going to revert to being nice, I would attempt to share this with you. this obviously is not your intention.

Im done.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,292
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 42 of 47 (925 Views)

Re: SpaceNavigator with 2012?

05-02-2011 12:02 PM in reply to: hypersonic

hypersonic wrote:

I would attempt to share this with you........
Im done.


How can I view an assembly without parts?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Mentor
Bill.Schmid
Posts: 391
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 43 of 47 (919 Views)

Re: SpaceNavigator with 2012?

05-02-2011 12:06 PM in reply to: JDMather

...and what does a SolidWorks assembly have to do with the functionality of the 3dconnexion SpaceNavigator in AutoCAD 2012?  Please return to topic or take it elsewhere.

 

Bill Schmid
AutoCAD Mechanical 2011
Mentor
Steve_Johnson
Posts: 604
Registered: ‎05-01-2005
Message 44 of 47 (884 Views)

Re: SpaceNavigator with 2012?

05-03-2011 07:41 PM in reply to: Bill.Schmid

While I don't want to get all spammish, in this case I think it's worth pointing out that I've done a blog post and poll on this subject:

 

http://www.blog.cadnauseam.com/2011/04/29/3dconnexion-device-support-in-autocad/

 

I happen to know that the Autodesk product manager who was responsible for introducing this reads my blog. If you can get some discussion going over there, that person will see it. In fact, I'll send them an email to make sure they see it.

Steve Johnson - blog nauseam - ClassicArray
Mentor
hypersonic
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Message 45 of 47 (874 Views)

Re: SpaceNavigator with 2012?

05-04-2011 04:49 AM in reply to: hypersonic

Thanks Steve, I will check out your blog too.

Yes, they really need to just address the issue and let 3dconnexion do the integration.  They must be trying to save 50 cents a seat or something.  One lost customer makes up for a lot of 50 cents though.

Mentor
hypersonic
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Message 46 of 47 (807 Views)

Re: SpaceNavigator with 2012?

06-05-2011 09:34 AM in reply to: hypersonic

Something that helped with Acad2012 using space pilot:

I tried the go anywhere drivers that are new from 3dconnexion:

In 2012 they sort of worked, i.e. they seemed to activate the pivot command quickly, but no matter what way you push or turn the controller, it will only pivot, it does not spin or zoom or pan at all.

 

I got the latest drivers from 3dconnexion: 3DxSoftware64SPP_v3-13-0_r111.exe

And all seemed to work o.k. with the exception of two things:

1) the activation of the pivot command seemed rather laggy, it could really use some improvement.

2) the motions worked the same as other cad systems witht the exception of the left to right tilt motion on the controller which seemed to niether roll or spin, but acted differently depending on the object orientation.

I found a setting in the navbar under 3Dconnexion settings called "Keep Scene Upright" and turned that off.

After that all the tilt, spin and roll motions seemed to work properly.

 

Most motions seem rather fast and too sensitive but are adjustable through the 3dconnexion settings dialog.

 

So it is at least now somewhat acceptable, time will tell after getting into some larger 3d files.

 

 

Mentor
hypersonic
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Message 47 of 47 (805 Views)

Re: SpaceNavigator with 2012?

06-05-2011 10:12 AM in reply to: hypersonic

Much to my dismay setting the "Keep Scene Upright" to "off" in the navbar 3dconnexion settings area does not keep it off, if you reopen the drawing it is back on again.... UGH!

 

If anyone can find the command name or variable name that controls this I would appreciate the input.  Folks could then set it in there starup lisp routines so as not to have the problem continue.

 

Thanks!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube