AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
RickSierk5870
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-18-2009
Message 1 of 30 (5,443 Views)

Slow picking and Properties Palette

5443 Views, 29 Replies
08-04-2010 04:38 PM

Anyone have a handle on what setting would cause a huge, well about 5-second, delay when any entity is selected without a command active and only with the Properties Palette on-screen but autohidden? If command is given first, verb-noun, no hesitation after selecting at Select Objects: prompt. But, selecting any entity first, noun-verb, causes the 5-second delay before the mouse is again active. Very annoying. Closing the Properties Palette completely seems to cure the delay problem, but at a different cost in editing time.  The workstation is running WinXP Pro with 4 gigs of ram. Rick

Rick Sierk
Member
slla
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-02-2007
Message 2 of 30 (5,305 Views)

Re: Slow picking and Properties Palette

10-22-2010 05:18 AM in reply to: RickSierk5870

Yes, same thing here. When I shut down the Properties Palette everything is fine. So I have given up and started to adopt a new way of working until they fix this.

Selection cycling is also causing trouble (freezing for seconds sometimes). Can't use it either.

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 3 of 30 (5,299 Views)

Re: Slow picking and Properties Palette

10-22-2010 07:34 AM in reply to: RickSierk5870

Is the Properties palette docked?  I don't know why, but one of my machines slows down if I dock it, but works perfectly when it's floating.

Active Member
RickSierk5870
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-18-2009
Message 4 of 30 (5,291 Views)

Re: Slow picking and Properties Palette

10-22-2010 09:54 AM in reply to: nestly

Thanks for chiming in. Since this problem only seems to affect one workstation and its palette was floating, I guess the anomalies will have to be chalked up to just that--anomalies. There must be some peculiarity in the memory configuration, either system or video card, within the workstation which accounts for the small incidence and seeming randomness of occurrence. Anyway, work arounds have been a way of life for AutoCAD users since the beginning. Cheers.

Rick Sierk
Contributor
Geveke
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-14-2006
Message 5 of 30 (5,192 Views)

Re: Slow picking and Properties Palette

11-02-2010 01:50 AM in reply to: RickSierk5870

We have the same here on all new CAD workstations; we have DELL Precision T3500 Win 7 Ultim. x64 with 12 GB of RAM, Nvidia Quadro FX 3800 graphic card, 146 GB 15krpm SAS HDD.

 

When selecting for example a dimension and the want to see the properties of the dimension, causes a delay of aprox 5 sec's. In 3dconfi> Manual Tune> Hardware acceleration was NOT switched on, switching it on speeded thngs a bit up (right now we have aprox 2-3 sec. delay), but thats still a pain in the a..

 

I have noticed that the delay DOES NOT occur when i do take over a workstation with remote desktop.....  :smileymad:

(Is anyone able to verify if this is reproducable?)

 

So in my opinion this problem seems to be realted to the graphic card on the working stations, at least the way Autocad and the graphic card are working together.

 

Oh and yes, we DO have the latest Autodesk certified driver for the graphic card installed :smileywink:

 

 

*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,857
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 6 of 30 (5,170 Views)

Re: Slow picking and Properties Palette

11-02-2010 10:50 AM in reply to: Geveke

I haven't come close to 5 second delay but it is definitely slower with the TP open.  The bad guy within the TP is the dimension information. So one work around for me without close the TP is minimize all the dimension related information, and customize the Quick Property to show what I need the most from dimension objects.  

New Member
ESR211
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-03-2010
Message 7 of 30 (5,015 Views)

Re: Slow picking and Properties Palette

12-03-2010 03:48 AM in reply to: RickSierk5870

I am having the same problem.

 

I've noticed that if I close the submenu for Lines&Arrows within the properties menu the delays disappears.

 

This is hardly a fix... but its working.  I hope someone comes around with a real answer here soon.

 

ESR

Contributor
zakaronius
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-05-2010
Message 8 of 30 (4,744 Views)

Re: Slow picking and Properties Palette

01-19-2011 08:21 AM in reply to: RickSierk5870

Agreed.  It does seem to be dimensions, particularly LINE and ARROW properties that take "forever" to populate the pallette.  This seems to be the case in QUICK PROPERTIES as well.  Nothing changes if you select a "standard" syle dimension either so I can't blame my dimstyle. Painful.  I'm sure we just need to AutoDesk more money and all will be well.

I got forced from 2008 to 2011 because 2008 would not hold onto its license on a Win 7 x64 laptop.  Grr.

Active Member
tungwahl
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-11-2009
Message 9 of 30 (4,619 Views)

Re: Slow picking and Properties Palette

02-02-2011 04:06 PM in reply to: RickSierk5870

We have the same problem here on our Dell precision M4400 laptops, absolute pain in the a#@#

minimising the the lines and arrows list speeds it up but its still not as good as it was in ACAD 2010 

Anyone got a fix yet?


Tony

Active Contributor
ChadBalser
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎09-10-2008
Message 10 of 30 (4,493 Views)

Re: Slow picking and Properties Palette

02-10-2011 10:04 AM in reply to: RickSierk5870

I'll throw my hat into the ring as well - for us it is Civil 3D 2011 - quick properties takes 5-6 seconds on simple objects (non-C3D included).  I thought it might be an issue of the AutoCAD base, and found this thread.  Similiar Workstation specs with Windows 7 x64.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube