AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
jameswillo
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎08-12-2008
Message 1 of 13 (9,531 Views)

Sketchbook error in Autocad

9531 Views, 12 Replies
05-06-2011 03:16 AM

I am using Autocad 2012.

I opened a file, probably made in ACAD 2008 or 9.

I used the edit block in place command and moved a few faces.

Exited block editor.

If I try and copy the block to the clipboard I get the error:

 

'SketchBook Designer data can only be saved in DWG file format and will be
omitted from other file types.'

 

I have never opened this DWG in sketchbook, neither do I have sketchbook running. Sketchbook has not even been used since the computer was booted up. Why am I getting this totally irrelevant message?

 

My block does not copy to the clipboard either.

Contributor
chris.turner
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-14-2007
Message 2 of 13 (9,485 Views)

Re: Sketchbook error in Autocad

06-28-2011 01:06 AM in reply to: jameswillo

Hi

 

I seem to be getting this Sketchbook Error too. Also from a file (Template) which was 2008 and I've also had to edit the title block in it. I'm struggling with this file to also correctly map the DWG Creator Name as AutoCAD 2012 in Vault. All other new files created from the original templates work fine, but this one sure doesn't want to.

 

I too have Sketchbook loaded, from the Inventor Product Design Suite, but never used it. Maybe I should uninstall it?

 

Any ideas anyone?

 

Thanks

Chris

Valued Contributor
ASCO-engineering
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎06-02-2008
Message 3 of 13 (9,385 Views)

Re: Sketchbook error in Autocad

10-24-2011 07:00 AM in reply to: jameswillo

we're getting similar errors:

- when using copy with base point / paste function

- when saving in other format (like DXF)

 

Add enough, the files are normal DWG format.

Is there a fix for this issue?

 

Misha

 

IVsuite2012 SP1 + vault

Valued Contributor
ASCO-engineering
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎06-02-2008
Message 4 of 13 (9,364 Views)

Re: Sketchbook error in Autocad

10-24-2011 11:11 PM in reply to: ASCO-engineering

after having experienced this error several times already, i found that the edit actions or exporting function on the same files or entities no longer gives the sketchbook error. I think this must be some sort of memory issue somehow as it seems to ocurr later during the day. Although this means that the error can be overcome by rebooting, it is very annoying none the less as i'm not always in the situation where i can just reboot. (Not to mention the time wasted to reboot.)

I never had this issue with previous autocad releases so please fix this autodesk!

 

Misha

Member
james.adams
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
Message 5 of 13 (9,351 Views)

Re: Sketchbook error in Autocad

10-25-2011 01:58 PM in reply to: jameswillo

Did anyone come up with a fix for this? I have been getting this same issue. When coping and pasting there is a short pause or delay then that same message pops ups

 

Thanks,

Member
james.adams
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
Message 6 of 13 (9,343 Views)

Re: Sketchbook error in Autocad

10-25-2011 02:27 PM in reply to: jameswillo

Never mind I figured out what is causing reading another thread.

 

"The drawing contains more layer filters than there are layers in the drawing. .  Excessive layer filters, like excessive scales, is known to cause poor performance in certain instances.  The warning message gives the option to deleted the layer filters, and if I did that when opening the drawing, the delay disappeared."

Valued Contributor
ASCO-engineering
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎06-02-2008
Message 7 of 13 (9,284 Views)

Re: Sketchbook error in Autocad

11-22-2011 11:46 PM in reply to: james.adams

layers are not the issue in my case. I actually also got this error after having just opened a blank template file with a few basic layers. I've uninstalled the sketchbook applications and the error has not resurfaced yet.

 

Misha

Member
james.adams
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
Message 8 of 13 (9,277 Views)

Re: Sketchbook error in Autocad

11-23-2011 05:01 AM in reply to: ASCO-engineering

Just making sure I was clear on my message. I went back and re-read what posted and it confused me a little.

 

It is not "Layers" that caused my problems, it was the "Layer Filters" that was causing the pause w/error message. As long as I have used AutoCAD (since, R12), I have never even used layer filters and really did not know that much about them. Deleting the filters caused the delay to go away when copying and pasting and also stop the error message from popping up.:smileyvery-happy:

New Member
r.devisscher
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-05-2007
Message 9 of 13 (9,232 Views)

Re: Sketchbook error in Autocad

12-23-2011 04:55 AM in reply to: jameswillo

Hello,

 

I'm using AutoCAD 2011 an have the same problem.

When i try copyng a line with the fonction copy with base point .

 I get the error:

 

'SketchBook Designer data can only be saved in DWG file format and will be omitted from other file types.'

 

 

Please someone can help me?

 

Thanks

Valued Mentor
RockyBrown4134
Posts: 391
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 10 of 13 (8,469 Views)

Re: Sketchbook error in Autocad

05-22-2013 12:29 PM in reply to: r.devisscher

I am getting the same error in AutoCAD 2012:

 

"SketchBook Designer data can only be saved in DWG file format and will be
omitted from other file types."

 

I'm  not sure that I understand this post, and that I may have overlooked the  true answer or a work around.

 

Has a fix been found?

 

What is the cause? Old drawings created in older version (2008)?

 

Is there anything that we can do to prevent this error?

 

Thanks

If this response answers your question, Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution"

RockyBrown
Aluminum Ladder Co.
AutoCAD 2012 / Inventor 2012

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube