AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
oreilly-r5
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-09-2013
Message 1 of 7 (298 Views)

SketchUp images are lower resolution when attached to AutoCAD

298 Views, 6 Replies
03-09-2013 10:36 AM

Hi,

 

I'm having a problem with inserting SketchUp images into AutoCAD. The images is fine in other applications, but when I put it into AutoCAD ("Insert" tab > "Attach") the resolution is pretty terrible - some lines don't even appear. Is there some way to get these images into CAD with the correct quality?

 

Sorry if this has been covered before. I'm using AutoCAD 2010; also let me know if this issue persists through the versions to 2013.

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
hmsilva
Posts: 2,639
Registered: ‎12-17-2004
Message 2 of 7 (296 Views)

Re: SketchUp images are lower resolution when attached to AutoCAD

03-09-2013 10:40 AM in reply to: oreilly-r5

oreilly-r5,

maybe

 

Command: IMAGEQUALITY set to High

 

hope that helps

Henrique

Member
oreilly-r5
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-09-2013
Message 3 of 7 (293 Views)

Re: SketchUp images are lower resolution when attached to AutoCAD

03-09-2013 10:43 AM in reply to: hmsilva

I thought that might be the problem too, but it's already on high. Thanks for the reply.

*Expert Elite*
hmsilva
Posts: 2,639
Registered: ‎12-17-2004
Message 4 of 7 (278 Views)

Re: SketchUp images are lower resolution when attached to AutoCAD

03-09-2013 10:55 AM in reply to: oreilly-r5

oreilly-r5,

I've had a problem like this, it was too much quality images...

Tries to reduce the image quality, size, in a image application, to have the size you need in your dwg, then attach the image again and see if there is a deference...

 

Henrique

Member
oreilly-r5
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-09-2013
Message 5 of 7 (273 Views)

Re: SketchUp images are lower resolution when attached to AutoCAD

03-09-2013 11:08 AM in reply to: hmsilva

Thanks Henrique. I'm not an expert on images, if someone could advise me how to do this, I'd appreciate it.

The image files can be around 2,500 - 3,000 KB. I don't know if that is excessive. I'd really hope to salvage as much quality as possible.

If there is no solution to this, it's a shame. The image quality is important for what I'm doing and other applications (like VectorWorks) can handle it.

*Expert Elite*
hmsilva
Posts: 2,639
Registered: ‎12-17-2004
Message 6 of 7 (267 Views)

Re: SketchUp images are lower resolution when attached to AutoCAD

03-09-2013 11:39 AM in reply to: oreilly-r5

oreilly-r5 let's try,

"I'd really hope to salvage as much quality as possible."..."The image quality is important for what I'm doing"

Iif you have an image with 100x50cm and 300 DPI by cm, and you only needs in the dwg a printed image with 50x25cm then your image has more information than what will be printed if your image is reduced in a image software to become with the size that you will use in dwg, then there is no more information that is needed. If you not have any image software, IrfanView is free, and there are many other free.

 

Henrique

*Expert Elite*
hmsilva
Posts: 2,639
Registered: ‎12-17-2004
Message 7 of 7 (260 Views)

Re: SketchUp images are lower resolution when attached to AutoCAD

03-09-2013 12:15 PM in reply to: oreilly-r5

oreilly-r5,
make a copy of one image, reduces the size, attach the image, and see if the quality is better in dwg.

 

Henrique

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube