AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
aprule16
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎04-24-2013
Message 1 of 8 (221 Views)
Accepted Solution

Scaling

221 Views, 7 Replies
07-04-2013 08:26 AM

Hi!

How to scale drawing with dimension lines without changing dimensions in dimension lines? I got drawing with correct dimension lines but geometry is wrong.

*Expert Elite*
nestly2
Posts: 1,278
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Message 2 of 8 (217 Views)

Re: Scaling

07-04-2013 08:40 AM in reply to: aprule16

How to correct this depends on whether the dimension text has been manually overridden, or if the dimension style has as a measurement scale factor.  To find out which, select one of the dimensions and view it's properties

DimProp.jpg

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,866
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 8 (201 Views)

Re: Scaling

07-04-2013 10:58 AM in reply to: aprule16

Hi,

 

>> How to scale drawing with dimension lines without changing dimensions in dimension lines?

May I ask why you need that? If you have a line with 1 length, a dimension that shows "1" ... and now you scale the line to "0.6" ... why should the dimension value show now "1" (instead of "0.6"), that does not make sense for me, it's just a source for upcoming errors whenever you insert that line to any other drawing (thinking it's length is "1").

 

If the need is to get it plotted to a smaller papersize then use layout and viewports. The content of viewports can be displayed in any scalefactor! (And that does not destroy the geometry/dimension dependancy)

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
nestly2
Posts: 1,278
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Message 4 of 8 (192 Views)

Re: Scaling

07-04-2013 12:05 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

alfred.neswadba wrote:
and now you scale the line to "0.6" ... why should the dimension value show now "1" (instead of "0.6"),

If I understand the OP correctly, that's already the condition of the drawing he recieved.  I believe he's trying to scale the drawing 1:1 without having to redoing all the dimensions.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,866
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 8 (188 Views)

Re: Scaling

07-04-2013 12:27 PM in reply to: nestly2

Hi,

 

>> I believe he's trying to scale the drawing 1:1 without having to redoing all the dimensions

In that case he/she can scale the drawing so the geometry is 1:1, then select all dimensions, open the property-window if not visible and change the property "Text override" to "<>" (without quotes) ==> that removes any overrides from the dimension and rewrites the correct measured value into the displayed text.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
nestly2
Posts: 1,278
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Message 6 of 8 (183 Views)

Re: Scaling

07-04-2013 02:03 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Correct... (assuming the dimensions have text overrides) 

The dimensions could have a scale factor other than "1".  I posted the screenshot hoping the OP would be able to tell "why" the dimensions don't match the geometry.

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,026
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 7 of 8 (143 Views)

Re: Scaling

07-09-2013 06:44 AM in reply to: nestly2

OP is the drawing a block?

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Active Contributor
aprule16
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎04-24-2013
Message 8 of 8 (114 Views)

Re: Scaling

07-12-2013 03:49 PM in reply to: aprule16

Hi! Thanks for help. Drawing was a block so i needed to correct scale. And I've done it by setting dimension line scale 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube