AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

friendsofrhomb
Message 1 of 15 (25,143 Views)
Accepted Solution

Scaling without changing dimensions

25143 Views, 14 Replies
03-26-2012 01:32 AM

Hi, 

I've completed a drawing, with dimensions and everything and I have to reduce it to 1:2 scale to fit my drawing frame. How do I do this without changing the dimensions? Everytime I reduce it the dimensions halve as well!

This is my first time using the program so please forgive me if it is a stupid question. Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Message 2 of 15 (25,141 Views)

Re: Scaling without changing dimensions

03-26-2012 02:08 AM in reply to: friendsofrhomb

Hi,

if you scale your entities to the half it's normal that the dimension text also displays tha half value (if your line was 10 and you scaled it down to 5 why should AutoCAD write "10" as dimension value).

To use scales for plot please don't scale your geometry! Leave your geometry 1:1 to real world units otherwise you would not have a chance to use your geometry as parts in other drawings without having to rescale it back.

To plot scaled you should use layouts, within the layouts create viewports and assign the plot-scale-factor to the viewport. So its not the model that get's scaled, it's just the plot-output.

Check >>>this<<< for more infos.

Good luck, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Message 3 of 15 (25,136 Views)

03-26-2012 02:59 AM in reply to: friendsofrhomb

With all due respect to Alfred... because I do respect Alfred... he's way smarter at this AutoCAD stuff than me, I'm going to restate a bit of what he said because sometimes we understand things in different ways.  And I don't disagree with him, I'm just going to explain it all another way.