AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
waleedmessouri
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 1 of 5 (310 Views)

Scale

310 Views, 4 Replies
12-04-2012 10:55 PM

Hi

I hav an object with 5 sides as lines length are 10, 8, 5, 4 and 3 cm, I want to cut 1 cm from each side using the scale command or any other easier method. I mean I want to minimize the boundary of the object by 1 cm.

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (288 Views)

Re: Scale

12-05-2012 12:52 AM in reply to: waleedmessouri

Hi,

 

>> I want to cut 1 cm from each side

>> I want to minimize the boundary of the object by 1 cm.

That are two different statements, do you want to reduce now every single segment by 1cm or the global length (all segments cumulated) should be reduced by 1cm.

 

For case 1: I would use grips to do that

For case 2: it's not defined here how this 1cm has to be splitted to each segment.

 

...or I don't understand something?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
New Member
waleedmessouri
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 3 of 5 (257 Views)

Re: Scale

12-05-2012 08:23 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Thanks very much for your help. I mean all the boundry will be reduced by 1 cm. The shape boundries will come inside by 1 cm.

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 5 (253 Views)

Re: Scale

12-05-2012 08:31 AM in reply to: waleedmessouri

Hi,

 

>> I mean all the boundry will be reduced by 1 cm

That might mean you want to reduce every segment by 1cm/5 = 2mm (you mentioned 5 segments) or should there be done something like an offset by an unknown distance so the boundary get's reduced by 1 cm?

 

Again not everything clear. Maybe you can create a sample drawing with a poly before and after modification?

At least if it's the offset-variant so that might fail if the polyline has a quite straight form.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,722
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 5 of 5 (237 Views)

Re: Scale

12-05-2012 01:49 PM in reply to: waleedmessouri

waleedmessouri wrote:

The shape boundries will come inside by 1 cm.


Sounds like a job for the OFFSET command.  (But I agree with Alfred that it is not exactly clear what you want.)  OFFSET (mind the options!) will copy objects a set perpendicular distance (the offset amount) from the original objects.

If OFFSET is indeed correct, be sure your lines (edges) are joined as a POLYLINE first, or you will have to TRIM the copies of each individual line to get your final new shape.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube