AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
TSmith_525
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-11-2012
Message 1 of 4 (219 Views)

SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME!!!

219 Views, 3 Replies
09-11-2012 09:14 AM

I graduate in 1 week and my final project file is corrupted.  When I go to open the file from AutoCad, in the preview box the file appears normal.  Then when I go to open it the file is nothing but a jumble of lines and blocks.  I don't know what to do.  I even tried to recover the file and the .bak file is doing the same thing.  Can someone please help me?  I was designing a 5 story hotel and now it appears to be lost forever.

 

Any answers are greatly appreciated. 

 

Thank you

 

-Tierra

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,127
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 4 (208 Views)

Re: SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME!!!

09-11-2012 10:00 AM in reply to: TSmith_525

When its gone, its gone; the only recourse you have is your own backups.  There's a reason why companies make nightly and weekly backups of the important files, and for projects this important you should as well.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,581
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 3 of 4 (197 Views)

Re: SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME!!!

09-11-2012 12:30 PM in reply to: TSmith_525

Post one of the drawings or just a portion of one so we can have a look.

 

Second best is to post a screen shot of what you are getting when opening a file.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Valued Mentor
steven-g
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 4 of 4 (173 Views)

Re: SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME!!!

09-11-2012 10:03 PM in reply to: TSmith_525

You could try looking in ----C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\Temp---- for a file with the extension .sv$ make a copy of the file and then change the extension to.DWG. That has helped me out of problems a couple of times over the years

Regards Steven Gray
Setting Out (Joinery Manufacturing)
Autocad 2013LT
Windows 7 professional

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements

    Come hangout with Autodesk Support Specialist and AutoCAD guru Volker Cocco, to learn about Precision Drafting: Object Snaps and Object Tracking on July 31 @ 11:00 AM PST.

    Click here for registration information!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube