AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
ZibiK
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 1 of 10 (584 Views)

SLIDE - Program Files (x86) folder - ERROR

584 Views, 9 Replies
12-20-2011 03:43 AM

Hi,

 

I have Windows 7 x64 and AutoCAD (2010 - 2012).

 

Please try this:

some file:  c:\Program Files (x86)\Any_Folder\my_slide.sld

command: VSLIDE

and...        error!!

 

If this file will be in any other folder (without "()" ) then all is correct.

Any folder with brackets eg. c:\My Folder (lorem ipsum)\my_slide.sld

and we can't insert slide to AutoCAD.

 

greets,

ZibiK

 

Active Member
ZibiK
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 2 of 10 (569 Views)

Re: SLIDE - Program Files (x86) folder - ERROR

12-20-2011 11:31 PM in reply to: ZibiK

Please add to bug tracker.

Active Member
ZibiK
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 3 of 10 (566 Views)

Re: SLIDE - Program Files (x86) folder - ERROR

12-21-2011 06:23 AM in reply to: ZibiK

Somebody checked it?

Active Member
ZibiK
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 4 of 10 (557 Views)

Re: SLIDE - Program Files (x86) folder - ERROR

12-21-2011 11:12 PM in reply to: ZibiK

Hallo!!

 

support AutoDESK! Where are you?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,890
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 10 (555 Views)

Re: SLIDE - Program Files (x86) folder - ERROR

12-21-2011 11:45 PM in reply to: ZibiK

Hi,

 

>> support AutoDESK! Where are you?

This is a forum for discussion and yes, you can ask for some product-specific problems you have. But you will also recognize that in most cases "normal users" answer questions, there is no guarantee for an answer as no one that writes answers here get's paid anything for answering.

If you want to have direct contact to Autodesk to get a feedback (guaranteed) for your problem you have to go to support via subscription center: subscription.autodesk.com

 

And what makes a question easy to handle for answerer? If they can reproduce your problem in short time. For me that means in your cases I have to create a SLD .... sorry, I have none. If you upload all data needed to reproduce, it may also give answers here.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
ZibiK
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 6 of 10 (554 Views)

Re: SLIDE - Program Files (x86) folder - ERROR

12-22-2011 12:20 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Account Is Not Linked to an Active Subscription Contract Subscription Help
This account is currently not enabled with Subscription capabilities and benefits.
We can help you link your sign-in account to an active Subscription contract. Click Continue to proceed.
Or you can sign in using a different User ID to access Subscription resources.
Sign In Now
AccessxmsgSubscriptionHelp
Please contact Subscription Help.


subscription - one word: if you do not you pay, you do not get answers

forgive me, but that they should depend on improving their product.

have a legitimate version of Acad2012 but I do not have access to ID, etc.

 

hopeless support
that's all

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,890
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 10 (551 Views)

Re: SLIDE - Program Files (x86) folder - ERROR

12-22-2011 12:28 AM in reply to: ZibiK

Hi,

 

>> have a legitimate version of Acad2012 but I do not have access to ID, etc.

How did you get an authorization-code without having an ID?

 

Anyway, see also my last part: upload some sample-data makes it more easy for us (and also for Autodesk) to try to reproduce your issue. At least I will not start now creating a SLD just to get YOUR issue reproduced (or not).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
ZibiK
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 8 of 10 (549 Views)

Re: SLIDE - Program Files (x86) folder - ERROR

12-22-2011 12:49 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

How did you get an authorization-code without having an ID?

I am an employee and the Board has the data ID, etc. Gaining access to the ID is almost impossible ...

 

Anywaywe also see last part: upload some sample-data makes it more easy for us (and also for Autodesk) to try to Reproduceyour issue. At least I will not start now Creating a SLD just to get YOUR issue reproduced (or not).

 

I understand.


Make folder: "c:\Program Files" and copy "0.0.0.sld" there

Next: 


Command: (command "_VSLIDE" "c:/Program Files x86/0.0.0.sld")
nil

 

All is OKEY.

Next change name your folder to: "c:\Program Files (x86)"

 

 

Command: (command "_VSLIDE" "c:/Program Files (x86)/0.0.0.sld")

"Program Files.slb": Can't find file in search path:
C:\Documents and Settings\admin\My Documents\ (current directory)
 C:\Documents and Settings\admin\application data\autodesk\autocad 2012 - english\r18.2\enu\support\
C:\program files\autodesk\autocad 2012 - english\support\
C:\program files\autodesk\autocad 2012 - english\fonts\
C:\program files\autodesk\autocad 2012 - english\help\
C:\program files\autodesk\autocad 2012 - english\express\
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2012 - English\drv\
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2012 - English\
nil

  

All clear?

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,890
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 9 of 10 (546 Views)

Re: SLIDE - Program Files (x86) folder - ERROR

12-22-2011 01:32 AM in reply to: ZibiK

Hi,

 

>> the Board has the data ID, etc. Gaining access to the ID is almost impossible ...

Then you know how is disconnecting you from getting support by Autodesk. Tell your people that you need a login for getting direct support, there's no other way getting answers guaranteed.

 

BOT: I have tried it now, and yes, there are interesting results.

I tried first to create a C:\DOWNLOAD\(x86) directory and placed you SLD into this folder. Then I tried to start _VSLIDE without calling it from lisp and yes, the error-dialog appeared (translated):

"" invalid filename

 

Then I played with modifying the directory-names to

a)     (my)

b)     (my

c)     my)

 

and got the following results:

a) same message as for (x86) ... so the string x86 does not have anything to do with it

b) no error message, but also no function, so the slide is not displayed .... but the directory is now connected to AutoCAD in any way as renaming of the folder is locked until AutoCAD is closed.

c) does it's job as designed

 

So the conclusions are:

I can reproduce this with AutoCAD 2012 SP1 German

*)* ..... does not do anything bad, works as designed

*(* ..... brings no message, but does NOT work

*(*)* ... pops up the message, does not work

 

 

Sorry, I can't help (at least no idea how to in the moment), - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
ZibiK
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 10 of 10 (544 Views)

Re: SLIDE - Program Files (x86) folder - ERROR

12-22-2011 02:01 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Thank you Alfred for checking and guidance.
I will try to get the ID and report the matter directly to AutoDESK support.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube