AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-02-2013
Message 1 of 6 (404 Views)

Rounded rectangle.

404 Views, 5 Replies
04-10-2013 06:39 AM

Hi there, this day one using autocad and my first post, I have to draw a rectangular slot with rounded ends in a baseplate. My question is how do I round the ends of the rectangle.

Thanks Paul.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,516
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 6 (400 Views)

Re: Rounded rectangle.

04-10-2013 06:52 AM in reply to: paulgdowson

Hi,

 

command _FILLET (>>>details<<<) option "_POLYLINE" (if you want to have all corners rounded with the same radius)

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,155
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 3 of 6 (397 Views)

Re: Rounded rectangle.

04-10-2013 06:56 AM in reply to: paulgdowson

If you have 2 parallel lines, FILLET will make it slot.

Valued Mentor
bgingerich
Posts: 276
Registered: ‎08-29-2011
Message 4 of 6 (348 Views)

Re: Rounded rectangle.

04-10-2013 11:07 AM in reply to: Patchy

Patchy wrote:

If you have 2 parallel lines, FILLET will make it slot.


Duude!! Kudos! That's so sweet!  Here I've been drawing two circles and lines and trimming them.  You learn something new everyday!

─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Brandon Gingerich
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 1,377
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 5 of 6 (316 Views)

Re: Rounded rectangle.

04-11-2013 05:13 PM in reply to: paulgdowson

In addition, you can draw a slot in one step using the rectangle command by using its own fillet option.  Set the fillet radius to half of the narrow dimension of the rectangle before drawing it.

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-02-2013
Message 6 of 6 (278 Views)

Re: Rounded rectangle.

04-13-2013 02:44 PM in reply to: paulgdowson
Hi there, thanks for your help,I have found the fillet option within the rectangle works a treat.
Many thanks

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube