AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
Spiritshifterus
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎07-30-2012
Message 1 of 6 (432 Views)
Accepted Solution

Request for help in creating a linetype

432 Views, 5 Replies
10-23-2012 08:27 AM

Good morning, all.

 

I am trying to create a new linetype. It is a simple linetype, made up of a continuous chain of capsules that I've attached here. I understand that linetypes require shape files and line definition files. However, AutoCAD isn't even telling me how to create the shape file(s) I need to begin making the linetype.

 

The capsule is .12 units long at its widest, and will need to connect end-to-end. Would someone please help me? Thank you.

 

Chris Martin

Mentor
Janet2009
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎06-04-2009
Message 2 of 6 (425 Views)

Re: Request for help in creating a linetype

10-23-2012 08:52 AM in reply to: Spiritshifterus

Use Express Tools to make shape then make linetype

Valued Contributor
Spiritshifterus
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎07-30-2012
Message 3 of 6 (400 Views)

Re: Request for help in creating a linetype

10-23-2012 11:41 AM in reply to: Janet2009

Dear Janet2009,

 

Thank you for creating the linetype for me. I also found the Express Tools that you spoke of, and thus I was able to recreate what you had made. No wonder I couldn't find any AutoCAD help on the subject, since those tasks were Express'es.

 

Have a good day.

 

Chris Martin

Distinguished Contributor
chad38
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎12-04-2013
Message 4 of 6 (101 Views)

Re: Request for help in creating a linetype

12-04-2013 12:06 PM in reply to: Spiritshifterus

Hello, I am attempting to set up a new linetype, and I came across this thread and am using the info contained herein to do so. I had to modify my autocad install to include "express tools"(fingers crossed that this is the express tools that was mentioned), but now I am unable to figure out where to even access express tools. It's not showing up anywhere in the start menu, I've looked all around the UI in autocad mechanical.......

 

Am I missing something here? Please help. It would be very appreciated. Thanks

Cybertron PC
Intel Core i5-3470 CPU @ 3.20 GHz 3.60 GHz
16.0 GB RAM
Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
3D Connexion Space Pilot
Inventor Professional 2014
Autocad Mechanical 2014
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,221
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 5 of 6 (94 Views)

Re: Request for help in creating a linetype

12-04-2013 12:24 PM in reply to: chad38

Type in:

EXPRESSMENU    or       MENULOAD, do you see EXPRESS in there?

 

If nothing, you need to put the DVD in the tray and install it.

Distinguished Contributor
chad38
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎12-04-2013
Message 6 of 6 (87 Views)

Re: Request for help in creating a linetype

12-04-2013 01:09 PM in reply to: Patchy

Not sure if MENULOAD would have worked, but I found in another thread instruction to enter CUILOAD, and loaded a file from express folder, and it gave me the express tools user interface. However the function to create a new linetype kept giving me an "unknown command" error. Then I entered APPLOAD and pick a few thingys and after doing so, Express Tools was up and running. Thanks for your response, however!

Cybertron PC
Intel Core i5-3470 CPU @ 3.20 GHz 3.60 GHz
16.0 GB RAM
Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
3D Connexion Space Pilot
Inventor Professional 2014
Autocad Mechanical 2014

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube