AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
lionramox
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
Message 1 of 11 (529 Views)
Accepted Solution

Quick Select Attributes

529 Views, 10 Replies
03-12-2012 05:15 PM

I have a drawing containing over 100 blocks with 8-10 attributes each. I want to align all the attribute text without rotating the associated blocks. I can select individual attributes by holding down the Ctrl key while I select each attribute. Then I can change the text angle in a pop-up dialog. Is there a quicker way to select all the attributes without having to click on each one? Remember that I do not want to rotate the whole block, just the attribute text.

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 2 of 11 (512 Views)

Re: Quick Select Attributes

03-13-2012 02:39 AM in reply to: lionramox

I wrote a vba script to do this on a per-click basis, I can share this if requested.

 

G

ACad, MEP, 3DS Max
Windows 7x64
X5482 @3.2Ghz 8Gb Ram
Quadro FX1700
Active Member
lionramox
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
Message 3 of 11 (495 Views)

Re: Quick Select Attributes

03-13-2012 08:06 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

If your VBA script will select all 800+ attributes with one click, I would be interested.

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 4 of 11 (493 Views)

Re: Quick Select Attributes

03-13-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: lionramox

My script work on a per-click basis only.

 

It may suit you better to redefine the block reference.  You can create an associative block reference that will align itself with the viewport, have you considered that approach?

ACad, MEP, 3DS Max
Windows 7x64
X5482 @3.2Ghz 8Gb Ram
Quadro FX1700
Active Member
lionramox
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
Message 5 of 11 (491 Views)

Re: Quick Select Attributes

03-13-2012 08:33 AM in reply to: lionramox

I have thought of redefining the blocks; is it possible to set the attribute text angle such that it will not rotate as the whole block is rotated?

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 6 of 11 (489 Views)

Re: Quick Select Attributes

03-13-2012 08:41 AM in reply to: lionramox

Not in the way you suggest.

 

Without knowing the context it's difficult to advise, however the associative block flag will resize the block to have it appear at a constant paperspace size regardless of scale - likewise setting the 'match block orientation' flag will effectively set the rotation of the block to zero, regardless of any rotations applied to it.

ACad, MEP, 3DS Max
Windows 7x64
X5482 @3.2Ghz 8Gb Ram
Quadro FX1700
Active Member
lionramox
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
Message 7 of 11 (481 Views)

Re: Quick Select Attributes

03-13-2012 08:58 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

I am a lighting and stage designer; when I draw, I insert blocks representing theatrical lighting units. Each block is rotated towards a focal point. Each block has attributes such as unit number, color, dimmer, circuit, type, location, etc. What I want to do is align all the attribute text so that it reads easily regardless of how each block is rotated. I can spend 20 minutes selecting each attribute, and then change the angle for the whole group. I just wanted a quicker way, like the ability to Quick Select attributes. (Quick Select is so helpful otherwise.)

 

Thank you so much for trying to help, I really appreciate it!

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 8 of 11 (478 Views)

Re: Quick Select Attributes

03-13-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: lionramox

perhaps you want to experiment with dynamic blocks a bit:

 

Create a dynamic block of a favourite fitting with rotation parrameters on everything except the hook-clamp and the attributes.

 

Insert the block in the usual way, only this time do not apply any rotation, use the dynamic grip to focus the light, similar to how you'd actually rig them physically - hang first, focus afterwards.

 

This would require a change to your workflow, but you might find it beneficial in the long term, for example 6-bars could be arranged to have all the cans rotate on the one grip, rather than having to explode and re-align.

 

Attached is a sample of what you could try.

 

G

ACad, MEP, 3DS Max
Windows 7x64
X5482 @3.2Ghz 8Gb Ram
Quadro FX1700
Active Member
lionramox
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
Message 9 of 11 (476 Views)

Re: Quick Select Attributes

03-13-2012 09:17 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

Not exactly what I was looking for, but It shows promise, thanks. (Are you in the entertainment biz?)

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 10 of 11 (474 Views)

Re: Quick Select Attributes

03-13-2012 09:19 AM in reply to: lionramox

It's an illustration of a different approach, rather than a solution.

 

And yes, I work for a large hire & installations company in the UK.

 

G

ACad, MEP, 3DS Max
Windows 7x64
X5482 @3.2Ghz 8Gb Ram
Quadro FX1700

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube