AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
JoeMin
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Message 1 of 6 (2,749 Views)
Accepted Solution

Purging Unused Blocks

2749 Views, 5 Replies
04-02-2012 12:37 PM

Situation:

I’m currently cleaning up an old file that is rather large. (so large I cant xref anything with out AutoCAD crashing)

 

Problem:

There are way too many “blocks” in the file, about 700 in all. Of these 700, more then 600 of them aren’t even being used anymore.

 

Question:

Is there a way to purge out unused blocks?

 

Thanks for the help.

*Expert Elite*
vladimir.michl
Posts: 233
Registered: ‎09-17-2006
Message 2 of 6 (2,742 Views)

Re: Purging Unused Blocks

04-02-2012 01:03 PM in reply to: JoeMin

Yes, just use the PURGE command.

 

Vladimir Michl, www.cadstudio.cz  www.cadforum.cz


Mentor
jonmcfarlandWS
Posts: 253
Registered: ‎09-22-2010
Message 3 of 6 (2,741 Views)

Re: Purging Unused Blocks

04-02-2012 01:05 PM in reply to: JoeMin

Joe,

 

Type PURGE, check the Purge Nested Items option and uncheck Confirm each item to be purged options in the Purge dialog box, then click Purge All.

 

Jon

Jon

Please select "Accept as Solution" if your question was answered.
curtainwallBIM.blogspot.com
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 4 of 6 (2,734 Views)

Re: Purging Unused Blocks

04-02-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: JoeMin

Also,

 

Use "-PURGE" and "R" for regapps - at least with C3D the unused / unnecessary regapps can really bloat a drawing - such as from 600KB to 3MB....

 

Best of Luck!


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 877
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 5 of 6 (2,720 Views)

Re: Purging Unused Blocks

04-02-2012 04:01 PM in reply to: vladimir.michl

And don't be afraid to run it more than once.  The first time PURGE can reveal nested blocks but not remove them.  A second, or subsequent PURGE, will be needed to get rid of them.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Active Member
JoeMin
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Message 6 of 6 (2,697 Views)

Re: Purging Unused Blocks

04-03-2012 05:06 AM in reply to: JoeMin

Ya, im realy rusty with AutoCAD, compleatly forgot about the purge command. i did it a few times, made most of the files go from 6,700 KB to arou 1,000 to 175 KB.

 

thanks for the help guys.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube