AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-29-2007
Message 1 of 4 (804 Views)

Proper Scale Settings when Xref-ing Civil Site Plan into Architectural Drawing

804 Views, 3 Replies
03-15-2012 07:11 AM

Can anyone provide a simple list of the proper scale settings to be set in the host and the incoming drawing when the host drawing is drawn by an architect using 1= 1 inch, and the incoming Xref is drawn by a civil engineer using 1= 1 foot?  In each drawing, what are the proper values for:

 

DDUNITS

-DWGUNITS

INSUNITS

INSUNITSDEFSOURCE

INSUNITSDEFTARGET

 

I realize that there are numerous threads covering these settings, but I cannot find a thread that simplifies the issue and deals specifically with civil-to-architectural scale settings.

 

Also, the -DWGUNITS command asks some questions beyond what Drawing Units are desired:

 

Scale objects from other drawings upon insert? [Yes/No]

Match INSUNITS to drawing units? [Yes/No]

Scale objects in current drawing to reflect change in units? [Yes/No]

 

What are the correct answers to these questions when Xref-ing a civil engineer's dwg into an architectural dwg?

 

Valued Contributor
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 2 of 4 (779 Views)

Re: Proper Scale Settings when Xref-ing Civil Site Plan into Architectural Drawi

03-15-2012 01:43 PM in reply to: dbd63

Can't you just scale the civil xref up by a factor of 12? I never messed with any of those settings.

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-29-2007
Message 3 of 4 (764 Views)

Re: Proper Scale Settings when Xref-ing Civil Site Plan into Architectural Drawi

03-16-2012 10:38 AM in reply to: bluefox

Sure, but when drawings go back and forth between architects and civil engineers, each discipline gets annoyed at finding that things have been scaled to the other's way of working.  Our civil engineers find it unprofessional and irritating.

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 293
Registered: ‎05-25-2005
Message 4 of 4 (744 Views)

Re: Proper Scale Settings when Xref-ing Civil Site Plan into Architectural Drawi

03-19-2012 01:06 PM in reply to: dbd63

The way I've worked around this is to reference in the architects drawing in my site base drawing.  I then scale rotate and place the arch drawing in the correct spot on my civil drawing.  Then when we get an updated arch drawing, we can just save over the existing arch drawing and since we are using our civil site base, we don't need to re-insert or re-scale anything.

 

This is what I've don't, at least until architects start using engineering units and putting things in the real location in the world :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube