AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
ConstantineS
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-21-2008
Message 1 of 8 (1,926 Views)
Accepted Solution

Problem - Publish using Page Setup Override

1926 Views, 7 Replies
11-10-2011 10:11 AM

We're using Win 64 and AutoCAD 2011.  We are having problems publishing multiple files to PDF without layer information.

 

I have tried two methods:

1.  Edit the default DWG to PDF.PC3 file to not include layer information.  Then create a Page Setup and assign this as the plotter to use.

 

2.  Edit the default DWG to PDF.PC3 file and save it to a new file "DWG to PDF without Layers.PC3".  Then create a page Setup and assign it as the plotter to use.

 

In both cases, I can publish a single file and have a PDF without layers but when I publish multiple files I get layers.

 

Does anyone know how to publish multiple files to PDF without layer information?

 

Thanks,

Constantine

Distinguished Contributor
jwjones1
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 2 of 8 (1,917 Views)

Re: Problem - Publish using Page Setup Override

11-10-2011 11:59 AM in reply to: ConstantineS

Dumb question... Are you editing the template (.dwt) that the sheetset is using and then saving the template?  You have to explicitly tell AutoCAD to open a template file, otherwise it will just start a new drawing using that template.

 

Hope that made sense...

Active Contributor
ConstantineS
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-21-2008
Message 3 of 8 (1,913 Views)

Re: Problem - Publish using Page Setup Override

11-10-2011 12:41 PM in reply to: jwjones1

Hi jw,

 

Not a dumb question ...  I am not that familiar with how sheet sets rely on templates.

 

I saw the sheet creation template file, and I thought it is only used to create new files for this sheet set.  How does it affect existing files?  All of these drawings were created many years ago, before sheet sets.

 

Is there something I should change in the template to get the publish settings of existing files to work correctly?

 

Thanks,

Constantine

Distinguished Contributor
jwjones1
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 4 of 8 (1,905 Views)

Re: Problem - Publish using Page Setup Override

11-10-2011 01:27 PM in reply to: ConstantineS

Ok, a few steps then....

 

  1. Find the template file you want to use and set up the page setups in it to work the way you want.  Make sure the you save the template file as a template.
  2. You'll still need to change your .pc3 file if you haven't done so already.  Go to the properties of the pc3 file that you are using and uncheck the "include layer information" under custom.  Judging by your previous post it sounds like you did that already but it can't hurt to double check.
  3. Right-click the sheet set title at the top and pick properties.  In the Sheet Set properties there is an entry for Page setup overrides file, click there to set what template the sheet set looks at for the page setup overrides.  
That should work.  Good luck and give a shout back if it doesn't =)
Active Contributor
ConstantineS
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-21-2008
Message 5 of 8 (1,895 Views)

Re: Problem - Publish using Page Setup Override

11-10-2011 04:04 PM in reply to: jwjones1

Hi jw,

 

As it turns out, the page setup I wanted to use was already there because I created from the sheet set manager, by right-clicking on a file, then selecting Publish, then "Manage Page Setups...".

 

Unfortunately, that did not change the PDF output.  The files still have layers even though the "include layer information" is NOT checked.  The strange thing is that if you publish one file it shows up correctly without layers, but if you publish multiple files they all come out with layers, despite the setting in the DWG to PDF.pc3 file.

 

Constantine

*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,876
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 6 of 8 (1,873 Views)

Re: Problem - Publish using Page Setup Override

11-12-2011 10:53 AM in reply to: ConstantineS

Right click on your Sheet Set to call up the menu and select Publish/ Sheet Set Publish Options/ Layer Information = Don't Include.

Active Contributor
ConstantineS
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-21-2008
Message 7 of 8 (1,855 Views)

Re: Problem - Publish using Page Setup Override

11-14-2011 08:44 AM in reply to: ToanDN

Thank you, that worked.

 

I had changed it in the PC3 file and also in the Publish Options of the regular Publish command, but it did not occur to me that there would be a third place.

Distinguished Contributor
jwjones1
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 8 of 8 (1,849 Views)

Re: Problem - Publish using Page Setup Override

11-14-2011 09:17 AM in reply to: ConstantineS

Awesome ToanDN, I'll have to remember that one =)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube