AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
bodhran
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-14-2010
Message 1 of 6 (444 Views)

Polyline with zero area

444 Views, 5 Replies
04-03-2011 06:51 PM

 

Hi guys,

 

Just had an issue with a polyline that didn't have an area, it's actual area, when checked in AutoCAD 2008 is 21531.0625 units but in AtuoCAD 2011 the properties tool pallette, quick properties & LISt all returned an area of 0.

 

We had to wblock the plolyine out, explode it, recreate it and insert it to get it work return an area when selected.

 

i've attached the pline is question.

 

Just wonder if anyone else has had similar issues.

 

Regards,

 

B

 

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 2 of 6 (416 Views)

Re: Polyline with zero area

04-04-2011 12:44 AM in reply to: bodhran

I don't know why, but the area displayes when it's moved closer to the origin.

Valued Contributor
bodhran
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-14-2010
Message 3 of 6 (378 Views)

Re: Polyline with zero area

04-04-2011 04:03 PM in reply to: nestly

Hmmm, that's weird, unfortunately we have ot keep them where they are, wonder id it somehow related to he position and the number of vertices in the polylines??

 

 

Active Member
vryarbe
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
Message 4 of 6 (309 Views)

Re: Polyline with zero area

08-03-2011 03:37 PM in reply to: bodhran

I just discovered a similar problem with some very simple geometry. I submitted the problem to Autodesk and they stated that they will not fix the problem in AutoCAD 2011 but they will fix it in the next service pack of AutoCAD 2012. ;-(

Valued Contributor
bodhran
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-14-2010
Message 5 of 6 (307 Views)

Re: Polyline with zero area

08-03-2011 03:40 PM in reply to: vryarbe

Thanks for letting us know!!

 

B

*Expert Elite*
azrdgldr
Posts: 1,250
Registered: ‎01-09-2007
Message 6 of 6 (291 Views)

Re: Polyline with zero area

08-04-2011 04:15 AM in reply to: vryarbe

Typical Autodesk.  Great customer service.  Why fix something for a customer that was wrong in the first place.  Imagine buying a car and you get a recall for a bad windshield wiper.  The dealership tells you, you have to buy a new car cause they can't fix it.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube