AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
rachelrose00
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
Message 11 of 16 (306 Views)

Re: Polyface mesh render problem

02-15-2010 07:10 PM in reply to: migueaguilera
Yes yes
I am in total agreement with you.
And we share the pain.
R.
Active Member
rachelrose00
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
Message 12 of 16 (306 Views)

Re: Polyface mesh render problem

02-18-2010 04:25 AM in reply to: migueaguilera
Migueaguilera-
what do you mean when you say
"Moreover the blocks could not have layers with the same name, or you lose the material when several blocks inserted in the same drawing"
?
Rachel
Contributor
migueaguilera
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-18-2009
Message 13 of 16 (306 Views)

Re: Polyface mesh render problem

02-18-2010 06:38 AM in reply to: migueaguilera
Rachel,

What I mean is that if you attach the material by layer and several blocks have layers with the same name, when you insert the blocks in a drawing, then you only will see the material of the block that has been inserted first
Active Member
rachelrose00
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
Message 14 of 16 (306 Views)

Re: Polyface mesh render problem

02-18-2010 04:01 PM in reply to: migueaguilera
migueaguiler-
This is important.

I have never seen this behavior you describe.

(We are talking about polygonal mesh blocks-just to be sure we are still on same page)

What version of AutoCAD did this happen in - the dissapearing materials if duplicated in inserted blocks?

You do not mean in AutoCAD 2010?
If I insert 100 old blocks (even junky old r14 .dwgs and another set from r2006 .dwgs that I tested)
one - by -one (All these blocks have Materials Attached By Layer in original files and many
blocks have the same Layer name and same Material attached to the same Layer name.

you enter the "convertoldmaterials"
command at the prompt and enter.

The Materials palette is populated with all the materials and
there ARE NO DUPLICATES.
All the blocks render perfectly.
There is still the single RM_SDB block in the current 2010 .dwg file.
And AutoCAD will not allow it to be purged - so I assume it still has a function.

In the Attach By Layer dialog they mats are in alphabetical order.
In the same dialog now you can click on the Mat or Layer Attachment name column header
and sort alphabetically.

I do not remember what autocad 2007,08, or 09 did....
I have to reload them.

Prior to this
I had the OPPOSITE problem from what you describe historically:


When Acad 2006 came out (please tolerate gaps in my Acad version-while I was living in a cave).
I insert many r14 blocks with mats assigned By Layer-
with many blocks having the same Layer and same material assigned to the Layer.
Just like above:
Layer-brown with brown mat attached
Layer-blue with blue mat attached
Layer-red with red mat attaced etc. ad nauseum
so of course many blocks will have the same Layers name and the same color/material attached.

If I insert all of those into Acad r2006-
All the materials are duplicated for each insertion.
and given a *1,*2,*3 suffix in Render Materials(Acad 2006 still had old Render)

The same thing happened with AutoCAD r2006 Blocks with Mats assigned by Layer and
inserted into AutoCAD r2006 and render.

If I export the blocks to an atttibute Table I could see the RM_SDB
carried all the definitions-

In the .dwg,
I could purge the duplicates but if I saved the Target file - they would all be back the
next time I open the file. A *material List* 1*2*3* mess in addition to the already mess of all the Layers named for Materials.

But AutoCAD 2010 does not have this particular problem.

The bigger issue is what you describe-
the whole strategy and plans for BIM and 3d models- the display issues.
But that is another issue -

Right now I simply am dying to understand what this dissapearing block material behavior you descibe is....
Thank you for your time
I wish I had your email to send you files.

You do know about "convertoldmaterials" right?
Contributor
migueaguilera
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-18-2009
Message 15 of 16 (306 Views)

Re: Polyface mesh render problem

02-19-2010 12:58 AM in reply to: migueaguilera
Rachel I agree with what you say: If all blocks have layers with the same name and with the same material, then OK

The problem is blocks with the same layer but different material attached

Anyway you can imagine the cost of reorganizing the meshes of all blocks per layer depending on the material when more than 1000 blocks

I think I will run a script for each block to explode all polyface meshes in 3d faces, despite all the disadvantages this entails
Active Member
rachelrose00
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
Message 16 of 16 (306 Views)

Re: Polyface mesh render problem

02-22-2010 11:11 AM in reply to: migueaguilera
migueaguilera
I went through autodesk SEEK and other places to try and find any furniture etc that has 2010 .dwg 3d models-
but the file formats there are all over the place.

If I were downloading from a manufacturer's catalogue it would be a good thing to see
a separate version beginning with AutoCAD 2010...

then those ideas from Bill Gillis about converting entites would not be so cumbersome.
He has alot of other historic posts about this too....
But as he noted even after conversion there are limitations for legacy polyface meshes in 2010.
The editing in 2010 is limited.
But it sounds like you do not need to edit the models-
just get the materials to render.

I can find no news about support for polyface meshes in updates or such...
But your original post was the only thing on the web I found about the original issue.

So once again I thank you with all my heart for saving me much more waste of time.

Any manufacturer is lucky to have you.
Many of them seem very proud when they release
new model collections for BIM and such in the current time.
I hope the company for whom you are providing the library will fund a new collection-

if the render by Entity does not happen.

Thanks again for all your time explaining this.
Good luck.

Rachel.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube