AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
mpbalda
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Message 1 of 5 (336 Views)
Accepted Solution

Plot Speed

336 Views, 4 Replies
01-22-2013 09:31 PM

I recently upgraded from ACAD 2004 to ACAD 2012. In ACAD 2004, plotting was extremely quick. In ACAD 2012, plotting seems to be extremely slow. A basic drawing in 2004 plotted as a pdf file using CUTE PDF or PDF Creator would take about 5-10 seconds. In ACAD 2012, a  similar file using the same CUTE PDF or PDF Creator will take up to 2-3 minutes. Not a long time but when you are plotting a dwg set that has up to 10 tabs in it, it takes 20-30 minutes just to plot. Is there any way to speed up the plotting in ACAD 2012? I have both ACAD 2004 and ACAD 2012 loaded on the same computer, so the computer itself should not be the issue.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,962
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (323 Views)

Re: Plot Speed

01-23-2013 05:21 AM in reply to: mpbalda

Hi,

 

sometimes a time leak appears when AutoCAD does not find something ... like CTB or PC3 or PMP (for PC3), try to start plotting with a clean directory of plot-configs and plotstyle-configs, just use the ones that are installed with the software and newly created files (at least don't have any copied files in that directories).

The other option might be to verify if you have

a) checked the "transparency" in the plot-dialog

b) what visual styles do your viewports have, if there are some render-like styles the output will be rastered first before sending to the device and that really needs a lot of time then.

 

If nothing helps, try to create a new drawing and verify if the plotting of just some lines/circles/polylines also need more time than estimated.

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,218
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 3 of 5 (315 Views)

Re: Plot Speed

01-23-2013 08:07 AM in reply to: mpbalda

Considering the differences between the two versions, yes - in general the later version will run much slower on the same hardware.  Bigger program, more resources required, expecting more modern/faster hardware.

 

You may want to double check plot settings (e.g. dpi), especially those which were added between the two (e.g. transparency).

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 891
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 4 of 5 (303 Views)

Re: Plot Speed

01-23-2013 11:55 AM in reply to: mpbalda

After the install did you uncheck "Enable Background Plot When" boxes in Options/ Plot and Publish tab?

Contributor
mpbalda
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Message 5 of 5 (297 Views)

Re: Plot Speed

01-23-2013 01:02 PM in reply to: steve216586

I unchecked the 'Plot In Background' setting and it now prints just as fast as the old 2004 version. Thx!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.