AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-01-2010
Message 1 of 25 (1,295 Views)

Mr. Sid files

1295 Views, 24 Replies
04-01-2010 10:02 AM
I'm not able to insert my sid files in 2011 when is the fix coming for this problem?
Valued Mentor
Posts: 1,660
Registered: ‎04-26-2005
Message 2 of 25 (1,292 Views)

Re: Mr. Sid files

04-01-2010 11:05 AM in reply to: cadfge
HA! Good one. How long have you been using AutoCAD? Seriously though, if you are on subscription you can file a support request. That's your best hope... and version 2012.
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-01-2010
Message 3 of 25 (1,292 Views)

Re: Mr. Sid files

04-01-2010 11:12 AM in reply to: cadfge
Since 1986- we've been using sid files since around 2006- I used them in micro station long before that- they usual work once object inablers are loaded someone at autodesk needs to step up and create one for 2011.
*R.K. McSwain
Message 4 of 25 (1,292 Views)

Re: Mr. Sid files

04-01-2010 11:33 AM in reply to: cadfge
Cadfge wrote:
> I'm not able to insert my sid files in 2011 when is the fix coming
> for this problem?

AFAIK - support for .sid files is not included with AutoCAD and never
has been
You either need AutoCAD Map, Raster Design, or the Raster Design OE.
http://www.autodesk.com/oe

--
R.K. McSwain
http://cadpanacea.com
*Doug Broad
Message 5 of 25 (1,292 Views)

Re: Mr. Sid files

04-01-2010 02:37 PM in reply to: cadfge
Can't you just save the image in another format and attach that?


wrote in message news:6365541@discussion.autodesk.com...
I'm not able to insert my sid files in 2011 when is the fix coming for this
problem?
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-01-2010
Message 6 of 25 (1,292 Views)

Re: Mr. Sid files

04-02-2010 04:30 AM in reply to: cadfge
R.K.

Supported or not i been using them for the last four years simply by inserting them as a raster image. Granted the object enabler had to be installed. It worked I have hundreds of drawings to prove it. Now suddenly 2011 doesn't acknowlege them? I just recently zipped a drawing with sids inserted to avatech support, who sent it to autodesk, and they saw the aerials on my drawing. Now your telling me it never was possible? I'll send you one to show you.

Respectly,
Cadfge
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-01-2010
Message 7 of 25 (1,292 Views)

Re: Mr. Sid files

04-02-2010 04:34 AM in reply to: cadfge
Morning Doug,

Sure I could but it's an extra step and the resolution goes way down. Those sids are beautiful compared to any tiff, jpeg, etc.
Something doesn't add up here.
*Murph
Message 8 of 25 (1,292 Views)

Re: Mr. Sid files

04-02-2010 04:38 AM in reply to: cadfge
Do you have the Raster Design OE installed for 2011?


--

Murph
http://map3d.wordpress.com/


"cadfge" wrote in message news:6366071@discussion.autodesk.com...
R.K.

Supported or not i been using them for the last four years simply by
inserting them as a raster image. Granted the object enabler had to be
installed. It worked I have hundreds of drawings to prove it. Now suddenly
2011 doesn't acknowlege them? I just recently zipped a drawing with sids
inserted to avatech support, who sent it to autodesk, and they saw the
aerials on my drawing. Now your telling me it never was possible? I'll send
you one to show you.

Respectly,
Cadfge
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-01-2010
Message 9 of 25 (1,292 Views)

Re: Mr. Sid files

04-02-2010 04:43 AM in reply to: cadfge
Is there one we looked and couldn't find one?
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-01-2010
Message 10 of 25 (1,292 Views)

Re: Mr. Sid files

04-02-2010 04:46 AM in reply to: cadfge
Why doesn't AutoCad support sids they are a great resource and most all the government agencies use them?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube