AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
MartinBrown
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
Message 1 of 5 (527 Views)
Accepted Solution

Measuring differences between Measure tool and Dimension tool

527 Views, 4 Replies
04-26-2012 02:03 AM

Im trying to show some measurments in layout view. But when i demension between 2 points i get the number 71,84.

 

When i use the measure tool in model view i get 1150mm which is the correct length.

 

Sure there is some simple reason why the two arnt coming in with the same value.

 

Also it isnt an issue with Units as i have checked both and they are both in millimetres.

 

Any help is appreciated

 

Thanks

 

Martin

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (526 Views)

Re: Measuring differences between Measure tool and Dimension tool

04-26-2012 02:06 AM in reply to: MartinBrown

Hi,

 

can you upload the drawing where we can see the dimension (and what objects behind them and if you have dimension in model- or paperspace, ...)

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
MartinBrown
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
Message 3 of 5 (522 Views)

Re: Measuring differences between Measure tool and Dimension tool

04-26-2012 02:47 AM in reply to: MartinBrown

I have uploaded the drawing.

 

The dimensions should be 1605mm on the long side

 

and 550mm on the shorter side

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 5 (513 Views)

Re: Measuring differences between Measure tool and Dimension tool

04-26-2012 03:21 AM in reply to: MartinBrown

Hi,

 

if I zoom deep enough I see that not all dimension-points are on endpoints of your geometry. So you either have not used ENDPOINT as osnap or you had some irritation with otrack or another object-snap like NEA or PER.

Additionaly the mass of points from your 3D-objects makes it difficult for AutoCAD to know to what specific point of the model the dimension has to be anchored to.

 

If I set the osnap to nothing else then ENDPOINT and create a new dimension showing (unique) endpoints of the modelspace-geometry I get modelspace-distances.

 

As a trial, create one simple line in the modelspace, go to layout and try to dimension that ==> you'll see, modelspace-distances.

 

To your drawing and to be careful:

Don't use color for entities and if you have to then don't use color 255,255,255 ==> you won't see the geometry anymore, but AutoCAD find's a lot of osnaps.

Your upper viewport is not visible exactly from top, its a (very) little bit rotated.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
Maria-the-Greek
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 5 of 5 (511 Views)

Re: Measuring differences between Measure tool and Dimension tool

04-26-2012 03:32 AM in reply to: MartinBrown

hi, its been along time, but i just saw the post

either you make the dimension annotative according to the viewport scale

or

fisrt you list the viewport to see the the scale of the viewport lets say A. 

Then you select to modify the dimension style. At your case iso-25. You select the tab  "Primary units" and then at the scale factor you multiply A (the scale of the viewport) with the scale its allready written at tab measurement scale - scale factor


reagrds

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube