AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
JoeMin
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Message 1 of 3 (72 Views)

Lost information when copying parts and blocks from one file to another

72 Views, 2 Replies
04-02-2012 06:34 AM

Hello,

 

Situation:

One of my coworkers is currently designing a fixture; he copied parts from a bunch of different CAD files into another. (some where blocks groups of parts, others were just normal geometric parts.)

 

Problem:

When he does this with one of the assemblies he needs, the part looses its constraints and one of the flanges at the bottom of the part. Any idea of why this happens?

 

Side Note:

I know if you copy and past an item that is a part of a “group” it copies all the items in the group, but not the “group” property itself. However, this item he is copying into the file is not a “group”, it’s just a couple of blocks. Also there are no xrefs in the original file that would be lost when pasted into a different file.

 

Thanks for the help

Mentor
jonmcfarlandWS
Posts: 254
Registered: ‎09-22-2010
Message 2 of 3 (62 Views)

Re: Lost information when copying parts and blocks from one file to another

04-02-2012 08:58 AM in reply to: JoeMin

Try Wblocking the elements in the source file and then inserting the new dwg file into the destination dwg.

 

Jon

Jon

Please select "Accept as Solution" if your question was answered.
curtainwallBIM.blogspot.com
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
JoeMin
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Message 3 of 3 (57 Views)

Re: Lost information when copying parts and blocks from one file to another

04-02-2012 10:33 AM in reply to: JoeMin

We tried using w-block and it didn’t work, same thing happened as before.

 

Turns out it’s because the block within that block was sharing a block name between the files.

 

The customer that sent us the info had a part containing before and after certain processes were done. (had CAD modules for each step done to a part during the process of creating the final part). But the “step 1” and “step 4” part hade the same block name. So when you tried to copy block “123” from file A to file B, it changed the properties of block “123”

 

Not the best description but let me know if that doesn’t make any since.

 

Thanks for the help though.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube