AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Valued Contributor
Spiritshifterus
Message 1 of 18 (4,482 Views)
Accepted Solution

Learning to create Blocks with Annotative Scale issues

4482 Views, 17 Replies
07-30-2012 09:17 AM

Greetings, all. I am rather new to AutoCAD 2010, and have observed issues with Annotative Scale. I have tried to avoid that function like the plague, but now I have some time to learn of it and its power.

I've been tasked with creating/updating Electrical Department symbol blocks. Right now, I am working on lighting fixture blocks, and I have this particularly odd scenario when i'm making the Block Attributes. My new block is for a 2 foot by 4' lighting fixture. When this block is to be inserted in Model Space, the size will always remain constant (2'x4'), but I need the Attributes (one for the Fixture Type, and one to denote the Circuit Number and Switch leg) to change sizes per the plan scale on Paper Space.

How, and in which space, should I construct my light fixture block & attributes? And, which parts of the block or attributes should be Annotative?

Also, the light fixture can be either oriented vertically or horizontally. Will I still be able to relocate the attribute using -EATTEDIT or -ATTEDIT?

Thank you for your help.

Chris J. Martin

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Message 2 of 18 (4,457 Views)

Re: Learning to create Blocks with Annotative Scale issues

07-30-2012 11:53 PM in reply to: Spiritshifterus

The objects that define the fixture itself should not be annotative, but the text style used for the attributes should be.  Then when you change scales the fixture will remain the same but the text will change size.  If you want to be able to insert the fixture at different angles you could add a rotation parameter/action to it in the block definition.  At that point it's your choice whether or not you want to include the attribute text with the rotation or not.

Dave

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.