AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,300
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 1 of 9 (24,384 Views)

Layers order (bring to front, send to back, ...)

24384 Views, 8 Replies
02-12-2012 12:28 PM

 

Layers order (bring to front, send to back).

 

I’m wondering what the AutoCAD doesn’t adopt the logic used in the ArcGIS to order the layers such that the layer that comes first is above all other layers! Layer can be dragged and dropped to switch its order! But still we can sort the layers also alphabetically (see the screenshots of the ArcGIS)

 

This is much easier than keep using the tools available in the “display order”

 

Clip_66.jpg

 

Clip_69.jpg

 

Clip_67.jpg

 

Clip_68.jpg

 

 

Is the going to be implemented in one day in the AutoCAD?

 

Thank you in advance for the help

 

Best

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,919
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 9 (24,382 Views)

Re: Layers order (bring to front, send to back, ...)

02-12-2012 01:09 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

JamaL9722060 wrote:

 

 

Is the going to be implemented in one day in the AutoCAD?

 

Thank you in advance for the help

 

Best

 

Jamal


It is sort of in AutoCAD Map3D.

 

draw_order.png

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,300
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 3 of 9 (24,372 Views)

Re: Layers order (bring to front, send to back, ...)

02-12-2012 02:14 PM in reply to: Murph

thank you murph for the answer.

 

then why it is not yet implemented in the AutoCAD?

 

best

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
3wood
Posts: 968
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 4 of 9 (24,359 Views)

Re: Layers order (bring to front, send to back, ...)

02-13-2012 02:54 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

AutoCAD has a command CDORDER in Express Tools, because most users use colors assigned to different layers to distingush different entities, so a "Draw order by color" command is good enough for most of us.

 

3wood

CAD KITS

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 9 (24,357 Views)

Re: Layers order (bring to front, send to back, ...)

02-13-2012 04:21 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Hi,

 

>> then why it is not yet implemented in the AutoCAD?

You can see it as disadvantage or as advantage, in ArcGIS (and so also in Map3D) you can "draworder" complete layers, but you can NOT push some objects up and some down if they are on the same layer .... AutoCAD itself can do this. E.g. all text objects on layer A on top and all solid-type hatches in layer A to bottom.

 

And if you need something that does it by layer ... take your friend Google, search for draworder and layer and AutoCAD, there are some tools out there. :smileywink:

 

Let me spent some words to your last posts: Don't try to compare products and ask like "ArcGIS can, why can't AutoCAD". They are different and they will be different in the future plus CAD is not GIS (as long as you compare AutoCAD with ArcGIS and not Map3D with ArcGIS)

I see the big advantage for AutoCAD that it is so flexible to adobt the userinterface to what I need, I can also add functionality starting with small macros in the menus up to large applications. If I want AutoCAD to become a text-editor I can do that, if I want AutoCAD to become a GIS-tool ... use Map3D, if I want AutoCAD to become more powerful for anything else, you can do that in most cases, so if I'm missing any functionality I can ask if I just don't find it, of course, but if not, I can add it. But don't try to make AutoCAD to ArcGIS or vici versa.

Additionally I wouldn't see it useful now to ask in an ESRI-forum for "can I set different draworders for individually objects on the same layer like AutoCAD does it".

 

I do understand if you learned with one product for years and you now have to change to a different one it's hard ... it's indeed more hard to change from one software to another compared to "start learning without knowledge of any other software" (in comparable market). But make yourself free in your mind and forget ArcGIS while you learn the handling of AutoCAD.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,596
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 9 (24,340 Views)

Re: Layers order (bring to front, send to back, ...)

02-13-2012 01:28 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

At some point you need to just search (HELP, Exchange, Internet, Google...) before posting :smileyhappy:

 

ORDERBYLAYER is a free plug-in at the Apps store in Exchange for AutoCAD 2012, FREE courtesy of Dotsoft. You can find comparable lisps and ARX tools on the internet that do the same.

 

 

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,300
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 7 of 9 (24,333 Views)

Re: Layers order (bring to front, send to back, ...)

02-13-2012 01:54 PM in reply to: pendean

Thank you all for the very informative answers. I do appreciate you contributions

 

Best

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
New Member
G3DO
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-13-2013
Message 8 of 9 (17,943 Views)

Re: Layers order (bring to front, send to back, ...)

03-13-2013 04:42 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Of course u can move indidual objects up or down in Arcmap.

 

in 2 ways actually;

-bij using the symbol levels (properties/symbols/advanceed/symbol levels) , wich can be processor intensive in large maps with lots of symbology.

-by changing the order in the table whilst in editmode. If u use fme transformer, its even possible to make this procescontrolled.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 9 of 9 (17,936 Views)

Re: Layers order (bring to front, send to back, ...)

03-13-2013 05:59 AM in reply to: G3DO

Hi,

 

>> Of course u can move indidual objects up or down in Arcmap.

really? A sample: you have layer "A" displayed above layer "B" ... and now you can display one entity from layer "B" above some entities from "A"?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube