AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 389
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 1 of 16 (2,848 Views)
Accepted Solution

LTSCALE

2848 Views, 15 Replies
10-08-2012 07:05 AM

Hello all, I have a quick question; I have always left my ltscale @ 1, but I ran a cross this question on a test.

"What is the Ltscale fact for a drawing plot size=200x150 and limits=(0.00,0.00) (600.00,450.00)

 

on the test it is multiplt chose 2, 3, 4 and UCSVP

 

I don't want the answer just how do I figuare ltscalt factor?

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,159
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 16 (2,842 Views)

Re: LTSCALE

10-08-2012 07:36 AM in reply to: drafter1411

3

 

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 389
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 3 of 16 (2,824 Views)

Re: LTSCALE

10-08-2012 08:12 AM in reply to: drafter1411

How did you get 3

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,159
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 16 (2,818 Views)

Re: LTSCALE

10-08-2012 08:22 AM in reply to: drafter1411

No option for 1 (and that is the magical number that evrybody used)

2, 4, ucsvp don't make any sense.

Limits is 3 times the drawing plot size so I picked 3

 

Will it be the correct answer? I don't know.

 

*Expert Elite*
leothebuilder
Posts: 481
Registered: ‎07-05-2010
Message 5 of 16 (2,790 Views)

Re: LTSCALE

10-08-2012 03:02 PM in reply to: drafter1411

If you have a drawing in model space that is 600 x 450 and your going to plot 200 x 150 your LTScale should be set at 3.

E.g. your plot size is 3 x the Limits size.

 

This test question must be very old because I haven't needed to use LTScale in a long time.

And is there still anyone out there who uses or sets Limits ???

 

For more recent versions of Autocad you're best to set your LTScale at 1, set your PSLTScale at 1 and set the MSLTScale variable to 1.

Once you have these settings you'll never have to reset LTScale again as your dashed and center linetypes will always show correct in both model and paper space.

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 389
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 6 of 16 (2,772 Views)

Re: LTSCALE

10-09-2012 04:58 AM in reply to: drafter1411

thanks, That is what I thought

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,012
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 7 of 16 (2,761 Views)

Re: LTSCALE

10-09-2012 08:32 AM in reply to: drafter1411

..also make sure CELTSCALE is 1...

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Valued Contributor
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎06-21-2001
Message 8 of 16 (2,696 Views)

Re: LTSCALE

10-12-2012 11:33 AM in reply to: drafter1411

I'm using ACAD 13 and I've used 12, 10 etc. I have never gotten my ltscale to work correctly set at one. It's usually so difficult to find the right setting I switch to acrmap or something else if I have a lot of line types. I've seen this answer quite often, is there a variable or something I'm missing?

 

ltscale = 1

psltscale =1

msltscale = 1

celtscale =1

 

Thanks,

Cindy

*Expert Elite*
leothebuilder
Posts: 481
Registered: ‎07-05-2010
Message 9 of 16 (2,686 Views)

Re: LTSCALE

10-12-2012 11:45 AM in reply to: drafter1411

If you use those settings your linetypes should display pretty good.

You should also never have to reset them when switching from model to paperspace.

 

Personally, I have LTScale at 0.5 as I like my hidden, dashed and centerline closer spaced.

That's just personal preference.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎06-21-2001
Message 10 of 16 (2,680 Views)

Re: LTSCALE

10-12-2012 11:53 AM in reply to: drafter1411

All I get is a continuous line. Does it have anything to do with then number of vertex on the line? They are always lwpolylines too, could that be it? Any suggestions would help, I've been trying to figure out why this doesn't work for me for a long time.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube