AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
Oliver_C87
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 1 of 9 (638 Views)
Accepted Solution

LTSCALE PLEASE HELP!

638 Views, 8 Replies
04-27-2012 07:57 PM

Hi All

 

I know this question has probably been asked before but what is the recommend Ltscale?

 

Im setting up a drawing template and have had some trouble with the dashed line sizes.

 

Could some one please let me know my options.

 

Thank you

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 2 of 9 (615 Views)

Re: LTSCALE PLEASE HELP!

04-28-2012 06:41 PM in reply to: Oliver_C87

Recommended:  "1".  Be sure also you make sure that MSLTSCALE and PSLTSCALE are also set to "1". 

 

Dave

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Contributor
Oliver_C87
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 3 of 9 (597 Views)

Re: LTSCALE PLEASE HELP!

04-30-2012 01:19 AM in reply to: heinsite

Thank you for responding dave. It is much appreciated.

 

Have set up your own template file also out of interest?

 

Another question I have that you might be able to helo with is, are we able to set up Layer shortcuts?? To assign say the number keys with common layers that we use all the time? Rather than pulling the layer manager list down and selecting the layer???

 

Thanks again.

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 4 of 9 (593 Views)

Re: LTSCALE PLEASE HELP!

04-30-2012 03:27 AM in reply to: Oliver_C87

I'm not familiar with your layer shortcuts idea.  But the real power of creating template files is something worth learning.  You can build them (and revise them as you need to) to contain all of the content that you regularly want to use.  Think of this as creating a standard that you or your company always wants to use on every project.  The things that I keep in my standard templates include;

 

Layers

Text styles

Dimensioning styles

Multi-leader styles

Table styles

Layout title blocks

Units

Custom fields (dwgprops)

Scales lists

 

... and probably a few more things I've forgotten.  The key is to keep adjusting and refining your templates until they don't need any more improvements.  Over time you'll update them less and less, but your work will become more and more consistent.

 

Good luck!  It's kind of a fun process.

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 5 of 9 (589 Views)

Re: LTSCALE PLEASE HELP!

04-30-2012 03:37 AM in reply to: Oliver_C87

There is a way to create content on specified layers without going to the pull down and selecting a layer, and that would be to pull objects off a tool palette.  This idea involves creating objects and then dragging them onto a tool palette.  Once there you can edit their properties to include names (Walls, Doors, Waterlines, etc) and the layers they go on.  When you pull them off the palette to use them they automatically go on the layer they're supposed to whether that layer already exists in your drawing or not.

 

I use this idea with blocks mostly, but I do have line tools there also with just this idea.  It's very handy.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Contributor
Oliver_C87
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 6 of 9 (583 Views)

Re: LTSCALE PLEASE HELP!

04-30-2012 03:46 AM in reply to: heinsite

Thanks for your comments Dave.

 

What do you do if you don't mind me asking?

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 7 of 9 (572 Views)

Re: LTSCALE PLEASE HELP!

04-30-2012 10:55 AM in reply to: Oliver_C87

I am a registered civil engineer, and Hawaii District Engineer for the State of Hawaii Airports Division on the Big Island of Hawaii.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Mentor
ArchD
Posts: 312
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 8 of 9 (531 Views)

Re: LTSCALE PLEASE HELP!

05-04-2012 10:39 AM in reply to: heinsite

I use a lisp routine from Timothy Spangler called Layer Creator. It takes some setting up to do, you have to tell a file, or multiple files if you want different layer sets, then just run the command and pick the layers you want and it will import them in for you. Nice lisp, check it out.

Archie Dodge

Civil 3D 2013
Windows 7 64-bit
Xeon W3550 3.07 GHz
Nvidia Quadro 4000
12.0 GB RAM
Distinguished Contributor
Kazo
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎04-30-2006
Message 9 of 9 (502 Views)

Re: LTSCALE PLEASE HELP!

05-07-2012 08:19 PM in reply to: heinsite

I love :heart: Hawaii...it is my favorite place ....only been there once...2 years ago for 9 days......im coming back! 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements

    Come hangout with Autodesk Support Specialist and AutoCAD guru Volker Cocco, to learn about Precision Drafting: Object Snaps and Object Tracking on July 31 @ 11:00 AM PST.

    Click here for registration information!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube