AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
ArmyVet717
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-02-2011
Message 1 of 18 (413 Views)

LISP/Routine

413 Views, 17 Replies
11-01-2011 08:31 AM

I am the CAD Coordinator for a telephony company. Some of our projects are very large and complex and require us to calculate the toal length of a conduit run or of aerial fiber to be placed. Is there a tool or something I can use to select a specific layer and have it calculate the total number and length of lines on that specific layer?

I know I can do this for blocks, but I am not sure how to do that for polylines and lines.

 

Thanks.

Valued Mentor
tschau3
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 2 of 18 (408 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 08:55 AM in reply to: ArmyVet717

This will give you the total length of lines, plines and splines.  Type TLEN at the command line.

Active Contributor
ArmyVet717
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-02-2011
Message 3 of 18 (401 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:09 AM in reply to: tschau3

Appreciate it. Next question. How do I get the lisp loaded into CAD?

Active Contributor
ArmyVet717
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-02-2011
Message 4 of 18 (395 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:17 AM in reply to: tschau3

I may not have been clear on my first post.

I figured out to load the lsp file, then tried to use it. It only gives me the total length for the object I selected, in this case a polyline. I was wondering if there was something that would calculate the total length of ALL plines or lines (in this case around 500 individual plines) on a specific layer. List will give me the legth of a sigle line.

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,208
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 5 of 18 (388 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:20 AM in reply to: ArmyVet717

Not LIST command

Use command TLEN

Active Contributor
ArmyVet717
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-02-2011
Message 6 of 18 (382 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:24 AM in reply to: Patchy

I did use "TLEN", it only gave me the length for 1 pline, not the other 499 on the drawing. 

Valued Mentor
gjrcmb
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
Message 7 of 18 (378 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:26 AM in reply to: ArmyVet717

Are you selecting all the polylines, when the TLEN command prompts you to select objects by typing All or using a window selection?

Valued Mentor
tschau3
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 8 of 18 (376 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:27 AM in reply to: ArmyVet717

I use LAYISO command to isolate the layer, then grab them all with TLEN.

Active Contributor
ArmyVet717
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-02-2011
Message 9 of 18 (371 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:30 AM in reply to: gjrcmb

When I type in "tlen", it simply says "select objects". No option to select "ALL" or anything else. I would like to be able to select 1 line and have it calculate ALL lines on that specific layer rather than selecting each individual line. There are multiple lines with different layers, so a window selects all lines regardless of what layer.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,208
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 10 of 18 (370 Views)

Re: LISP/Routine

11-01-2011 09:30 AM in reply to: ArmyVet717

Tlen, then type in ALL, anything different?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube